Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | November 27, 2015

Friday Five – November 27, 2015

Happy Day After Thanksgiving! My Thanksgiving Day began with running the Manchester (CT) Road Race, and setting a new personal record for that race. With over 15,000 people on the course, it was a rough race to run for time. When I started running in 2010, the Manchester Road Race was the first ever race I ran, so it was good to set a new PR.

I did manage to Tweet out several links at the start of the week, so I had several to choose from for this week’s post. So, here are this week’s links:

PsychCentral (Rick Nauert) – November 23, 2015

When cuts are made to mental health care, it doesn’t mean that people stop needing the services. It shuffles them elsewhere – often to ERs.

PsyBlog (Jeremy Dean) – November 23, 2015

Want to increase your happiness? Quit Facebook for one week.

APS Observations – November 18, 2015

This link reports on a study in the European Journal of Social Psychology by researchers in Germany who conducted a meta-analysis on studies looking at intergroup conflict.

PsyPost (University of Cambridge) – November 23, 2015

I’ve been talking about the spectrum of human sexuality in my Human Sexuality class. Part of the discussion has included those behaviors considered problematic, such as sex addiction.

PsychCentral (Rick Nauert) – November 24, 2015

This link talks about software that can predict marital success better than descriptions of therapy sessions.

Because I’m using the free version of WordPress, you may see ads below. I have no control over what ads are shown. Please click with caution.

Responses

  1. I read the article This is why you should quit Facebook for one week. It made a lot of sense. I can definitely see how people are happier when they stay off Facebook. I myself check Facebook constantly. I think it’s just a habit, I’m not sure why I do it. I find myself needing to know what everyone is up to today. The article is absolutely right about people’s posting habits. People only want you to think that their life is perfect so they make it seem wonderful. I think of it as a person who has gained weight but only takes face shots to hide the weight gain. I think that when they post how great life is they make themselves feel better. I myself post both sides. I am constantly getting yelled at by my mother, I’m 38 by the way, about what I post and how I should only post nice things like rainbows and sunshine. The reality is life is not always rainbows and sunshine. I also think it’s amusing when someone blows you off and comes up some lame excuse and then you see them doing something with someone else because they are dumb enough to post pictures of themselves doing it. I know that makes me really mad. It also makes me mad when I see posts about ignorant political things. I find myself in a worse mood after getting off Facebook then when I went on. In light of the study, I am going to try my best to stay off Facebook for one week. This will be challenging but I think I can do it! Fingers crossed!

  2. I read the article Tone of voice trumps word choice in spousal arguments. I have been married twice and am still currently married to my second husband. What they are saying about the tone of your voice is completely true. I know it sounds ridiculous but I think of this like when speaking to a dog. You can call a dog a “bad dog” in a sweet voice and the dog won’t know that you are using derogatory cues at him. I have been in many arguments with my husband and he is constantly saying that I’m not communicating it to him well enough and that’s not what I said. In my head I hear the way it needs to come out but apparently my tone is much more aggressive or in a could care less way. Same goes for him. I am constantly telling him that it’s not what he says it’s the way he’s saying it. This article hits the nail on the head and I’d be interested to see them follow a couple for ten, twenty years to see the long term effects of it.

  3. I found the facebook article to be very interesting. I spend a lot of time on social media, facebook included. I feel as if it is a norm in todays society to have all these social media accounts to stay in touch with family and friends. but the article is right when it said people only post success stories. You never see a post about how poorly someone did in a sporting event or how they cooked a terrible meal for dinner. That does kind of get me mad in a way I guess. Only seeing peoples success stories makes me wonder how many unsuccessful experiences they’ve had. That goes with all social media websites. I personally would love to try and stay away from all social media for a week and try this experiment out but I honestly don’t think I could do it.

  4. I read the one on the reasons to quit Facebook. I believe that Facebook take up lot of personal time and space with family and friends. I have realized that you don’t even have privacy anymore because of Facebook. Many time things that we need to talk about with people one on one we put everything on facebook. Our feelings, family problems, or a problem between we and a friend. These are things that normally when there was no face book, we will call people up and talk it over with them but not anymore. I find myself feeling sometime that I am missing something huge on Facebook so I need to check up what happening every few minutes. And I have to try this technique and see how long I can go without checking my Facebook page.

  5. I also read the one on tone of voice and word choice in spousal argument. I am a person who believe that you treat people the way you will love to be treated. When I was growing up the tone of voice from my parents and the way they said certain things will either make me happy or feel sad. I wanted them to treat me with some level of respect although they were my parents. And today I still feel that tone of voice and choice of word matter in every relationship. If it is between you and your spouse or you child. And I tried to give as much respect to my husband and whenever he rises his voice I let him know how I feel. And he do the same with me. We try rephrasing words so we don’t come out as being too harsh. And I believe when argument arouse one person have to stay calm so that things don’t get out of control. So out tone of voice and choice of words are very much important in our relationships with our spouses and others.

  6. This is why you should quit Facebook:
    I can totally see pretty much every view made in this article. Everyone puts good things about themselves on FB to share with their 400 closest friends and family but they seldom post their own short comings. With finals next week, it may not be a bad idea to give this a try.

    Tone of Voice Trumps words:
    I’ve always believed that the delivery of what you say is as important as what you say. Body language is the same thing. I know that even with texting when someone is not able to detect my tone ( kidding or sarcasm) a comment is often times misunderstood.

  7. I read the article about not using facebook for a week, and I honestly think they should say any multimedia! There are so many negative things on there, and it makes you so wound up in everyone else’s lives but your own. And when it does make you think about your own life it makes you think poorly about your life. I really think everyone should take this into consideration and try to get the negativity out of their lives. This is really important because there is a lot of negativity in this world and a lot of it has to do with social media. I think I need to try this for myself and see how it goes.

  8. I think the article “This is Why You Should Quit Facebook For One Week” was very interesting. Facebook is extremely addicting and is very distracting. At times I noticed I’m on Facebook while driving which is extremely dangerous. I Remember when I stopped using for two months. I noticed I focused on more things such as exercise, watching favorite tv shows, and shopping. I can say I felt a lot more energized, alert , and more organized. I even spent more time with my actual friends and not my virtual ones. I do believe the article is said to be true.


Categories

