Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | November 6, 2015

Friday Five – November 6, 2015

I think I have a new measure of how busy my week has been – how few things I retweet. It didn’t help that I was out sick on Monday. But, I’ve weeded through the links and chosen five for the week.

Without further delay, here are this week’s links:

Journal of the American Medical Association – November 3, 2015

I started talking about sexually transmitted infections in my Human Sexuality course this week. One topic I touched on was antibiotic resistance of the bacterial STIs. I had mentioned how a few years ago the medical field was facing a crisis in regards to gonorrhea. Looks like that crisis is still looming.

PsychCentral (Janice Wood) – October 31, 2015

Ok, Intro students, I know a few of you chose this link off Twitter this week. I trust you won’t try to pull one over on me and choose it again. Unlike some of my friends with kids, I am fortunate that the norm for my son is to sleep 10-11 hours at night. But I clearly recall his first 7 months and the disrupted sleeping as he woke a few times each night. I already get grumpy if I don’t get enough sleep, add in the interruptions, and there were days when I was a rage monster.

PsyPost (University of Alberta) – November 2, 2015

This link reports on a follow-up study to one from 2012 that found that when men do what are traditionally thought of as women’s chores, there is less sex in the relationship.

PsyPost (University of Montreal) – November 3, 2015

Next week, I’ll start covering memory in my Intro course. This link shares research examining working memory in toddlers and how it is related to later school success.

PsychCentral: Sex & Intimacy in the Digital Age (Robert Weiss) – November 5, 2015

This link shares how the American Academy of Pediatrics has shifted their view on media and technology use by children.

Because I’m using the free version of WordPress, you may see ads below. I have no control over what ads are shown. Please click with caution.

Responses

  1. Chores that lead to a better sex life is a very interesting study. But I was wondering does the fact that you completed a task and need a reward for the succession, have to do with a better sex life. Every now and then we as human being have to treat ourselves. The way we treat ourselves is completely up to us but sex could be one of the most rewarding thing a person can have.

    The interrupted sleep study is a trial that i think everybody does without knowing. As college students our sleep patterns varies. We can have roommates that like to interrupt our sleep or keep a noisy room. Some days such roommate can allow us to go sleep uninterrupted which can throw somebody morning mood off.

  2. I read the article about Interrupted sleep and what was saying people who went to sleep late rather people who were awake a number of time threw the night had the same mood when they woke up the next morning. When someone wake me up threw out the night I know that when I wake up the next day I’m not going to be in a good mood at all. I already do go bed at a rather late time of the night my mood is not anger when I wake , I just want go back to bed and I have a hard time getting out of bed because I always say I get up in five minutes. I think most people will wake up angry if they were awake threw out the night.

  3. I also look at the article about men doing more chores leads to better sex life. I think that its not about the chores I think it more about taking off some the work load from partner, which show them that you care which also leads to more sexual intimacy while balancing the demands of daily life. When I was young my mom dad showed me how clean up, wash dishes, cook, and wash my clothes cause at point time you may not have someone to it for you. All men should help out because it not just one person in the relationship its two.

  4. The idea of Fair Division of chores leading to Better sex life is quite interesting. I believe the reason is; people that share chore help relieve each other of the burden of having a single person, doing everything by themselves. So there is enough time to spent with each other. Compare to just the woman doing it all. This leave no time for time does limiting sexual activity
    Another thing I want to comment on is the fact that kids spending time on technology have gone form being alarming to being acceptable. People need to be careful of what apps kids I using and motor their kids carefully. Is it true that kids benefits a lot from technology but the risk is still there. I want people to remember that. But else it is a good thing for kids to learn these technologies eitherly in life. Because everything is now on the computer and Internet. The world of technology.

  5. Data on Gonorrhea:
    This is disturbing as a worker in the medical field that any bacteria is becoming resistant to treatment. While it may be a sexual transmitted disease this time and some people may feel protected against it, in the future, it may be something much more common that becomes difficult to treat.

    Corrupted sleep tight to cranky mood:
    I’m not sure if I buy into all of that. I think that everyone is different in what they need since our bodies are all different. Some people have a faster metabolism while others are slower and some people require more sleep than others. Could age or activity level have factors that lead to these results? I also wonder what is being qualified as a positive or negative mood? What outside influences are there? I think it’s difficult to put all these results on how they’ve slept.

  6. In the article Sleep Tied To Cranky Mood i learned that when you go to sleep and how well you sleep do have a correlation to your mood the next day. as someone who usually sleeps very well through the night and goes to bed the same time most everyday, i noticed a change in mood when i do not get enough sleep or wake up throughout the night. to know that it is not just me who has these feelings the next day is nice and that it is backed up by research. i have also noticed in my sleep that i am in a worse mood when i am woken up in the middle of the night than when i just go to bed late. in the article it is said that this is because you are not getting the proper sleep cycles that you need to feel restored. i found this article very interesting and was glad i was able to read about it.

    i also read the article about men doing more chores. i think this was interesting because it does not seem that it would have any affect at all. they also tested German couples which may be very different than American couples. i think that the only time it may increase the sex drive in a couple is if the wife has a lot of work and the husband or spouse is doing it to help her out. this is when it will increase the sex drive.


Categories

