Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | October 31, 2015

Friday Five – October 30, 2015

I apologize for the delay in getting this week’s post up. My free time to work on the blog got away from me on Friday. I have a mix of topics this week.

Without further delay, here are this week’s links:

Medical News Today – October 29, 2015

Smartphone use is a bone of contention in my household. Both my husband and I accuse the other person of spending too much time with their phone. Medical News Today is reporting on a study published in PLOS ONE that examined how much time people estimated they spend on their smartphone with how much they actually spend on their smartphone.

Because PLOS ONE is an online journal, here’s a link to the PLOS ONE article by Ellis, Shaw, and Piwek.

About Education: Psychology (Kendra Cherry)

I just wrapped up the chapter on consciousness in my intro class. The chapter started off talking about attention and I covered the concept of inattentional blindness. The work of Daniel Simons has demonstrated that the human mind can be blind to things we are not paying attention to.

Here’s a link to the invisible gorilla by Christopher Chabris and Daniel Simons with some of the videos demonstrating Simons’ work.

Student Science (Bethany Brookshire) – October 25, 2015

Some people just can’t carry a tune. For some, it’s a matter of not enough practice. For others, it’s a matter of true tone deafness. This link talks about a study that examined how true tone deafness happens.

PsychCentral (Traci Pederson) – October 26, 2015

Over the past few years there has been growing media attention to the dangers of concussions in contact sports, especially football. The research has been extending beyond professional athletes to young athletes. PsychCentral reports on a study presented at the American Academy of Pediatrics national conference that looked at parent and coach reactions to concussions in young athletes.

Armed with Science: The Official U.S. Defense Department Science Blog (John Ohab) – December 13, 2010

CDC STD tweeted the link to this blog as a #Halloween #TBT this week. The full video is 20 minutes. I’m sharing it for two reasons. First, I will start covering sexually transmitted infections/diseases in my human sexuality class on Monday. Second, as someone interested in persuasion, it is always interesting to see historical instances of persuasion. (And I just cringed at calling 19073 historical – I was born that year.)

Just a reminder: Because I am using the free version of WordPress, I do not have control over the ads that may appear at the end of my posts. I hope none are offensive, and click with caution.

Responses

  1. I think we do use smartphones more than we think. I know I use it subconsciously all the time. I look at how many steps I have gone in a day, time, messages, emails, and social media. Phone company’s push the idea that everyone needs the latest and greatest version of their phone. Honestly now phones are getting to big, the batteries aren’t meant to last after a two year plan and they are not how they used to be. As a society we think that we are moving forward with smartphone technology but it is actually hindering us from what we used to know. I can turn of my television from my smartphone… how lazy is that? Instead of me walking and finding the remote. Some of the applications are useless and smartphones are being used too much.

  2. Many Parents, Coaches Still Unaware of the Dangers of Concussions in Young Athletes:
    No matter what level of play or what sport you watch or play, concussions and head injuries are no longer taken lightly regardless of how severe they may appear or how well the athlete re-cooperates after the hit or blow to the head occurs. I coach youth lacrosse and football and it is required that you take a class on head injury/ concussion prevention before every season to help prevent concussions and learn on refresh your knowledge on how to detect early signs of a concussion. Sadly, I have seen my fair share of parents send their children back to practice or games obviously too early after their child has sustained a concussion or head injury. Some parents are like the article says; unaware or even completely oblivious to the dangers their subjecting their children to. A rule or guideline I follow and what I was taught from fellow coaches is that if a child has sustained any injury, whether it is a concussion or sprained ankle, if they to you as a coach seem not 100% healthy always ask for a doctors note before allowing them to play. For some reason in today’s “youth sports era” the parents of the children who play seem to think that if their children miss a game or a season due to injury that it is the end of the world. Its best to let children heal while they are young say that they can succeed and perform at higher levels later on in life.

  3. How We Use Our Smartphones Twice as Much as We Think:
    I believe that we use our smartphones way more than we think we do. With all new fancy apps coming out for phones nowadays, life is gradually becoming more simplistic but we as humans are becoming more and more lazy as well. While these apps are great to use and some serve as great time killers, we often end up killing more time than we hoped or needed to.

  4. Cell phone today is very much addictive. I usually find myself not able to go without my cellphone for a few hours. I once forgot my cell phone and had to go to work and I felt that I miss something very important. I sit and for a few minutes have to check my cell phone for no reason. When I am doing something very important I have to know where my phone is. I believe that I am on my phone constantly. I is very bad and I have to work on how much time I have to spent on my phone.
    And the one about inattentional Blindeness was quite interesting. It reminded me of the short video that was shown in class. I couldn’t I imagine how very easy it was to see the gorilla past. And I did not even recognize it. It so easy to not take notice of somethings because you are paying attention to another.

  5. How we use our smart phones…
    I think that this article makes a great argument but what it doesn’t take into consideration is the changes in technology over the generations. While yes, many people check their phones very often, but it’s used for such a variety of things… Communication, news updates, business, school… So while it may seem that people are stuck in their phones, they may actually be conducting important tasks that for years were only done in the office or classroom.

    What is inattentual blindness?…
    I think that this article was on point with the brains ability to acknowledge only what it finds to be important. It really points out how much you prob miss day to day. If your brain recognized some of these things, would your focus be shifted? Is this a natural way to stay on task when otherwise being labeled at having attention issues?

  6. I think cell phones today is the biggest problem in this generation. It is way too addicting and makes everyone loose focus. It is not shocking to know how addicted we are to our phones but it will be better if we all found a problem to our addiction.
    When it comes to sports, I believe parents and coaches should be a little more sensitive when it comes to head injuries. I believe they see that their kid isn’t bothered and just sends them back in to play the game without making sure they are 100% ok. Coaches should make a rule where players can not go back into the game unless they have a doctors note that approves.


Categories

