Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | October 23, 2015

Friday Five – October 23, 2015

It was a one-day on campus work week for me last week, so I didn’t get around to sharing a lot of tweets and didn’t get around to posting a Friday Five. Thankfully, the slew of conference presentations are over for the semester and I can (hopefully) get focus back on other things. Additionally, my half marathon training is over, so I get chunks of my Saturday mornings back. (BTW: I did finish the Newport Half Marathon in 2:46:43. Which is a new PR for me.)

Without further delay, here are this week’s links:

PsyPost (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) – October 13, 2015

My Intro students just started the chapter that covers sleep. I thought this was a fitting post to share given that it connects this new material back to material from an earlier chapter on the brain.

AllPsych (Amie Kolodziej) – October 20, 2015

Another sleep link. I have to admit that I’m a fan of napping, when I can get it. I have always realized that I tend to need more sleep than the average person. Since becoming a parent, I’ve found the impact of getting less sleep even more noticeable than in the past.

Slate (Rachel E. Gross) – October 16, 2015

Your cat (or dog) can probably move their ears around quite a bit (unless you have a floppy-eared dog that isn’t quite as talented). Most humans have lost that ability, but the neural pathways are still there.

Huffpost Gay Voices (Kira Brekke) – October 20, 2015

This link is to a video that gives a history of bisexuality from Egypt to Stonewall. I’ll start talking about sexual orientation in my Human Sexuality class on Monday.

HuffPost Women (Eleanor Goldberg) – October 14, 2015

Last week (the one day I had class) I was wrapping up the chapter on contraception in Human Sexuality. I had given my students an online discussion of what historical contraceptive option they would choose had they lived in that time. Many said they would just have sex and risk pregnancy, or comments that women just accepted that pregnancy would happen. This led me to bring up the issue of status and access to contraceptive options. I saw this link after that class and had to tweet it out. I’m sharing again because I think access to reliable contraceptive is an important public health issue.

Just a reminder: Because I am using the free version of WordPress, I do not have control over the ads that may appear at the end of my posts. I hope none are offensive, and click with caution.

Responses

  1. Since returning to college, I have noticed I am hungry all the time and I require naps. Using my brain power requires rest, down time. When I don’t get a nap during the day, weather it be for 20 to 40 minutes, I’ll feel slower, like a sloth like creature. I’m also aware, retaining information while studying requires more energy and I can’t aford to lack the focus. As an older, non-traditional student (who loves too learn) naps are a recharge, so that I may clearly absorbed the high education experience.

  2. For me, taking naps is really hard, my body will not allow me to sleep unless it I am extremely exhausted. I feel exhausted all the time but I think the naps come when I really need the sleep. I do not nap often, this semester I have only taken two naps but I really want to start taking more. I’m up early and go to sleep late and feel super stressed with work, my mind is mentally exhausted but still the naps do not rear their head. I have noticed more of an effect this year than last year, I feel like I cannot remember things that are important or retain as well as I used to. I will probably try to take a nap once a week so I can do better academically.

  3. Me personally, I do not take naps. Even though I am mentally and physically exhausted. This semester I have added a lot of things to my plate and with all of that transpiring it is hard to take naps. I do believe that sleep deprivation leads to chronic diseases. Personally I find it hard to fall asleep and I wake up early in the morning to start my day. I do notice myself starting to not remember things and have trouble retaining information. I would like to start taking naps at least once a week.

  4. Your Vestigial Muscles Try to Pivot Your Ears Like a Cat’s:

    I found this article interesting because I always find myself laughing when my dog pivots her ears into certain positions when she sees certain things or appears to be confused. I also always have wondered why we as humans are unable to move our ears like other animals when certain sounds are perceived.(as creepy as that would be) I like how the author states that studies show that other vestigial “useless” structures or muscles like the appendix or tailbone are not as useless to humans now or even before as ear orienting neural circuits are, but studies show that our ancestors when they were primates may have relied more on these neural circuits when hearing was more important than sight.

  5. Need a Nap? Science Thinks So Too:

    Sleep deprivation is a very dangerous and unhealthy thing for the human body. I attend class for 3-6 hours a day and work 8 hours a day Monday through Friday. With that being said trying to fit homework, sports, and my personal life in my schedule leaves little to no room for sleep. I find it very hard to sleep at night and don’t really have time to sleep during the day. I agree with the article that short naps after studying or learning helps a person retain the material they learned or studied because I almost am always up late at night doing homework, studying, or reviewing notes from class. I find that even with a messed up sleep schedule or not getting enough sleep if you have the luxury of having time off on the weekends, sleeping in and relaxing completely can recharge you brain so to speak and prepare you for the tasks that are ahead of you. Everyone is different and personally I think that finding a sleep or napping schedule that is right for you can improve your overall quality of life.

  6. The History of Bisexuality –
    there have been so many people that have impacted the LGBT community, but unfortunately, there has been such a negative connection with anything other than heterosexuality until the last prob 30 years, so we know little or nothing about them. The bisexual community spoke about how they’re often overlooked as a group and simply categorized as gay or lesbian.

    How to get contraception into the hands of 225 million women in need –
    I felt that this article talks about a subject that is taboo in many countries, however it is imperative that these people become educated on its importance and have it available. While condoms are used as a form of birth control, we all know that they are an effective barrier against sexually transmitted diseases. In countries where there is an AIDS epidemic, this could make a huge difference. They also spoke about the older generation and how having too many children or becoming pregnant past a particular age becomes dangerous for mom and baby.

  7. When reading the article about sleep it tells how important sleep really is. Each person should get about 7-8 hours of sleep each day. 40% of American do not get the 7-8 hours and it shows because it can have affect on how you drive and how you work. With people crashing and making mistake it has become a public health problem. I think that every should get the 7-8 hours so it will not affect there judgement on things and there quality of work.

  8. In the article “Need a Nap? Science Thinks so too, they inform us on the terrible habits of Americas sleeping. We’ve all heard that we (adults) are supposed to get a good 7-8 hours of sleep every night, but according to the CDC almost 40% of Americans get less than 7 hours of sleep a night. Sleep deprivation is a huge problem for Americans, with all these Americans not having enough sleep it causes violence, accidents and health problems. Naps can help make it so people don’t have chronic sleep deprivation and make more mistakes. Researchers have proven that little naps do actually help. I know personally with sports, college, and homework I find it very hard to fall asleep at night because I am very busy. I also find it hard to find time to sleep during the day, but when I do find time I take advantage. Naps usually help me during the day, especially because I find it hard to pay attention during class because I am so tired all the time.

  9. Need a Nap? Science thinks so too

    Being a victim of sleep deprivation, I know it can have serious effects. Naps are necessary to help the body function. The results from the study showed a significant difference between sleep and wakefulness. Retention is a main factor that is being affected by sleep deprivation. Lack of sleep will alter our memory and weaken our immune system. This article made me understand the importance of taking a nap is.

  10. The article i found most interesting was about sleep paralysis. Although this does not affect me personally, i know a few people who suffer from this. I find this a very interesting thing where you are actually unable to move and have some sort of hallucination. whether this was evil or something mild i think i would be completely terrified either way not being able to move. Now knowing that is occurs during REM sleep makes sleep paralysis a little more understanding. The fact that during this your body is unable to move so you do not injure yourself while you dream is a good thing. the fact that you wake up and are still unable to move is scary but at least you will now know that it is only temporary and will subside once your body realizes you are no longer in REM sleep.

  11. Need a Nap? Science thinks so too

    When you are a victim of sleep deprivation you can wear you body down which can have a serious affect on your choices in life as well as current choices you need to make. There has always been studies to show that lack of sleep can cause our memory to come in and out as well as weaken our immune system. With sleep we can recharge and maintain a healthy day to day life. Hey we all need time to recharge and maintain our selves.


Categories

