Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | October 9, 2015

Friday Five – October 9, 2015

It has been a busy week prepping for the second round of tests (the official midterm point is 10/21), a long weekend, and a really short week (1 day!) before heading off to present at another conference. Oh, and I’m presenting at the New England Psychological Association Conference, tomorrow. So, it wasn’t too surprising that I didn’t have a lot of retweets this week, and that those I did make were early in the week.

Without further delay, here are this week’s links:

PsyPost (History News Network) – October 4, 2015

My Intro students just wrapped up the chapters on the brain and sensation/perception. I hadn’t even realized until this week that I forgot to talk about Phineas Gage. Even the text for the course left him out – Poor Phineas. This link is a review of a new book by Sam Kean, entitled The Tale of Dueling Neurosurgeons: The History of the Human Brain as Revealed by True Stories of Trauma, Madness, and Recovery.

PsyPost (The Conversation) – October 5, 2015

The next topic my Intro students will be moving on to is states of consciousness. I thought it fitting to include this link to (hopefully) jump start their interest in the topic.

PsyPost (The Conversation) – October 6, 2015

I just had a conversation with a new psych major. She was doing an interview of a professor as an assignment for one of her courses. She asked me what piece of advice I’d give college students. This link may have influenced the answer I gave her. I said: “Don’t be afraid to fail. We often learn more from our mistakes than from always being successful.” At least as it applies to experimental design, I’ve got a lot of lessons to share with my students because of my own research mistakes.

Higher Education Network (Helen Lock & Zofia Niemtus) – October 5, 2015

The energy company EDF has launched a campaign, #prettycurious, to encourage girls to pursue further study and careers in traditionally male-dominated fields such as the sciences. The link is about how the campaign is being taken by women already in the sciences.

HuffPost Women (Nina Bahadur) – September 30, 2015

Several celebrities have come together with Funny or Die and WomanCare Global to create a set of in-your-face sex-ed videos. I’ll let the videos and the link speak for themselves.

Just a reminder: Because I am using the free version of WordPress, I do not have control over the ads that may appear at the end of my posts. I hope none are offensive, and click with caution.

Responses

  1. How brain wounds and illnesses advance Neuroscience is most fascinating to me. My mom had major brain surgery. She surprisingly became more pleasant to be around after her surgery and mom was able to share story’s of her life’s experiences, revealing a side to her we did not know existed. The details of her adventures in Peru, when I was two years old, were so descriptive, I felt as if I were seeing through her eyes.

  2. Sleep paralysis is one of the scariest things to go through. You are paralyzed with fear. I experienced it once but it was very short I could not move in my dream and I was so scared because my body was sensing this dark figure, in the article it was defined as, hyper realistic multisensory hallucinations of an actual intruder. It was so scary and when I woke up I turned on the light, it was like I heard the voice in the room after. I found out that people have it at least once in their lives and that makes me feel better. In the movies it is portrayed as something scary and I think that that also has a connection I how we perceive it. I like how science has developed in a way that they are close to figuring out the cause, that means that they are close to putting an end to sleep paralysis.

  3. I found the article on children learning from stress and failure very interesting. My parents raised me that way which is why I liked the article. They would never straight up do my homework for m but help me and teach me how to do it on my own. I 100% believe in people learning from your failures because you cannot be successful without failing. Also if you get thins done for you and handed to you as a child you will pick up bad habits that will hurt them.

  4. Children Learn from Stress and Failure: All the More Reason You Shouldn’t Do Their Homework:

    I liked this article because I used to work for the YMCA at an after school program helping children with homework. Most of the children were either motivated enough to do their homework by themselves, or they had no confidence or had bad anxiety. There was really no in between. Sadly, the children who had bad anxiety and never wanted to even attempt their homework often admitted that their parents would end up doing it for them. I found that children who had no confidence in themselves when it came to their homework often claimed that they were afraid to be wrong at all because of their parents scolding them or other feared that other children would make fun of them. A “solution” I came up with to get rid of this fear of failure was to have the children continuously practice whatever subject they were less skilled or not confident in, and their reward was them seeing the increase in skill and grades they would receive.

  5. Understanding Sleep paralysis: A Terrifying but Unique State of Consciousness:

    I’ve been a victim of sleep paralysis a couple times in my life and let me tell you it’s not something that is fun or interesting. The first time it had happened to me I was 14 years old and it traumatized me so bad that for a while I had a hard time sleeping over my friend’s houses because I thought they were going to harm me. Most of my sleep paralysis events were incubus hallucinations and they almost always occurred when I was trying to fall asleep early in the night. No matter when these dreams occur they almost always “scar” you for a while and affect your sleep. It may be because your brain is entering this unique state of consciousness and makes everything seem realistic and adds a physical sensation to it. It is great that there is advances being made in research to lessen or possibly end sleep paralysis because it is not something you want to experience psychologically.

  6. The topic on the blog that I was interested in is the one that have to do with children learning from stress and failure. I believe that parent should not be doing Kids homework but helping the Kids to do their own work. Which is different from doing it. Because when you help Kids do their homework you are helping them to take up challenges by themselves and solving these challenges. If you just toke their work and complete it they have no clue as to what is going on in their school and will not be able to address challenges as they come.
    And the next on I will like to talk about is the “pretty curious ” campaign. It is very good and interesting that they are encouraging young girls to take up these challenges. But why will they us the name “pretty curious”? This is totally stereotypical. Why men that are ion such career not being label as ” handsome “. Or is it only girls that have to have beauty world attached to them at their place of work? That is crazy but the name need to be changed to reflect what it true purpose is.

  7. Sleep paralysis can be a very scary occurrence for people who go through it. I personally have gone through it a couple times that I can remember distinctly. I remember having trouble breathing towards the end of my sleep. I believed at the time that someone was causing this effect on me in my dream or something. It definitely felt like i was suffocating and i remember waking up gasping for air. It truly does feel like you are awake but just cant move your body and get up. I think its petty cool that theyre researching on ways to end sleep paralysis.

  8. Sleep paralysis is something that no one wants to experience because of the fact its scary. Studies are starting to show that it is very common to have sleep paralysis. What happens is when someone is sleeping, they get sleep paralysis because they were disrupted while they slept. During our night sleep we go through this stage that is called REM. That is where our eyes move rapidly while we sleep. When you wake up while you were in the REM you get the sensation where you feel paralyzed and can’t move. To the people who do experience these horrible effects, they are harmless and temporary.

  9. When reading the article about the parents doing work for kids I believe that it does not help them in life because if they don’t learn how to fail on there own ,when they fail later on in life they will not know how to take it the right way. Growing up my mom and dad would not do my homework for me but they were always willing to help but never would they just take the paper and just do it for me. I think parents should teach there kids how to find there own way sometimes cause if they don’t they will never grow up knowing the right way on how to go about failing.

  10. Children Leadn from Stress and Failure:
    I think that it’s very easy to make the mistake of helping kids with their homework too much.. I’m guilty of it myself because there also comes the issue of self esteem. Is prompting them wrong to initiate an answer? Maybe, but I feel some kids just need that extra help especially where school are so focused on issues like common core, MCAS, etc..

    Celebs get real about baggy condoms:
    I think it’s a great attempt to reach younger kids about what is still a taboo subject and even bring it a bit further for women to take control of their sexual experience and birth control.


Categories

