Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | October 2, 2015

Friday Five – October 2, 2015

Other than the deceptive Tuesday felt like Thursday so Wednesday must be Friday quirk earlier this week, this week has felt more normal in the craziness of the semester. Which is good, because it’s a bit of a calm before the storm of two conference presentations and a half marathon happening in two weeks.

Here are this week’s links:

NPR: 13.7 Cosmos & Culture (Tania Lombrozo) – September 28, 2015

This link was forwarded to me by a colleague who is teaching a course on Forgetting this semester. It was in response to several links to memory studies that I had been sharing with her this week as I was retweeting them out to my Twitter followers.

PsyPost (Association for Psychological Science) – January 15, 2015

This is one of the links I forwarded to my colleague teaching the forgetting class. As her students have come to realize, maybe we can’t really trust our memories.

Medical News Today – September 30, 2015

My Intro students have been learning about the brain this week and last week. This link is about the connection between personality traits in Chimpanzees and specific brain anatomy.

HuffPost Gay Voices (JamesMichael Nichols) – September 30, 2015

I wrapped up Sexual Anatomy and Gender this week in my Human Sexuality class. This link (with video) relates to those chapters.

PsyPost (The Conversation) – October 1, 2015

Occasionally, I find a link that is equally applicable to both classes following the blog. As I mentioned in the previous link, the Human Sexuality class just wrapped up Sexual Anatomy and Gender. And, although I didn’t spend class time talking about it, the book chapter on the brain for Intro covers the endocrine system.

Here are some additional links with helpful information for students:

This is a link to a series of five short videos by Stephen Chew, a psychology professor at Samford University. These cover some strategies to get the most out of studying.

This is a link to a site maintained by Dr. Jonathan Golding at the University of Kentucky.

This is another site maintained by Jonathan Golding. Through this site, you can explore a number of different career options related to psychology.

Just a reminder: Because I am using the free version of WordPress, I do not have control over the ads that may appear at the end of my posts. I hope none are offensive, and click with caution.

Responses

  1. The Article “People can be Convinced they Committed a Crime that Never Happened.” I find this article very intriguing yet very scary. The fact that people can convinced of crimes that they have never done, but now they have been convinced otherwise is mind blowing. It makes you wonder how many people have been falsely accused and the real criminal is still out there. It’s also mind blowing that it only takes 3 hours to make someone think they are in the wrong. In the experiment they told the participants one true statement and one falsely one. Then they were supposed to give them detail on it, and they would, even with the untrue one. To me this is so surprising and very interesting.

    In the article “Think remembering is for the best? Forget about it!” I completely connect with. This articles states that you shouldn’t be upset over the little things you should forget. You obviously don’t forget the emotional/ important things in life. Sometimes forgetting is a good things. The reason we forget so much is because our brain isn’t meant to hold all of that information so we forget the “least” important information. When you learn about something so small and insignificant you don’t remember when you learned about it, you just remember what you learned. If you do remember what how you learned about something, you don’t remember it in great detail. I find this article very relevant and maybe will help me relax when I forget about something small, there’s always something bigger to remember than that appointment that I forgot about.

  2. I think that in the article “Think remembering is always best? Forget about it!” shows how we as humans can always forget things and there is never a day that we always remember anything and everything at least I know I don’t.

  3. “Here’s what it’s like to grow up intersexed” – I think it’s so difficult for people to understand the struggles of someone who is intersexed or transgender, unless they are actually experiencing going through it. While I think that close family and friends can sympathze and be supportive, it’s hard to try and relate to these real feelings.

    “Think remembering is always best…” I believe that this is very true. I think that the mind closes out certain things in order to protect you from becoming overstimulated or emotionally effected – particularly overwhelming events or situations that are difficult to deal with. It’s the brains way of protecting itself.

  4. “Think remembering is always best…” This is a good article. Do I really need to remember everything? I think, if I did, I could only imagine how emotionally draining and overwhelming life would be. I would probably require a lobotomy under such circumstances.

  5. In recent studies, researchers were able to make up crimes and interview teenagers and convince them of these crimes. Caregivers were to write a detailed description of some crimes 11-14 year old teenagers would do. Later on 60 students were put in a interview where researchers told these teens the two crimes they committed. The first one was true crimes and the second one was completely false. Surprisingly at the end of the all interviews 21 of the students have confessed to the false crime they committed due to the lack of their memory.


Categories

