Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | September 25, 2015

Friday Five – September 25, 2015

Hard to believe that it is the last Friday in September. A full 4.5 weeks of the semester has flown by. Midterm point is only a few weeks away. So just as I regain my footing from the first round of exams, it will be time for the next round.

Here are this week’s links:

Minds On the Road: Association for Psychological Science (Scott Sleek, Alexandra Michel, Anna Mikulak) – September 23, 2015

In general, the Minds on the Road blog looks pretty interesting. Apparently, it has been around since June 2014, but I only discovered it today due to an APS (Association for Psychological Science) tweet. This particular entry discusses the competition between self-control and memory. Intro students: although the research in this entry doesn’t specifically look at neurotransmitters, it might be interesting to think about how they play a role in the competing processes going on.

Live Science (Natalie Wolchover) – February 9, 2012

This is an older link, and I may have even shared it three years ago. The brain is a marvelous thing, and the interplay between sensation and perception is amazing. Intro students: this topic will come up either on Thursday or the following Tuesday as we cover the Chapter 4 material.

Observations: Association for Psychological Science – September 16, 2015

Hmm. Two links to memory research in one week. My cognitive psychology roots might by showing.

NPR: Health (Rosie Spinks) – September 25, 2015

A potentially eye-opening piece about sanitation practices in undeveloped countries.

New York Magazine (Alex Morris) – September 22, 2015

This is a longer piece than I usually link for the Friday Five. It originally came across my Facebook timeline and I tweeted the link out when I saw it. I still need to read the full piece, myself.

Just a reminder: Because I am using the free version of WordPress, I do not have control over the ads that may appear at the end of my posts. I hope none are offensive, and click with caution.

Responses

  1. Our minds can predict what comes next in a sentence using context. Our brain reveals that if we hear a sound, that’ll lead us to accept another sound is on the way as if being able to hear the second sound. Our mind automatically goes back and fills in the gaps based on context.Our brain also process all the letters in a word at once. Reading some passages activates the mind to read digits.

  2. I found this article very interesting. The research shows that when someone is getting more motor stimulus there is less memory stimulus going on. People were asked to recollect faces, some pressed buttons while others did not, the ones that had to hold off on pressing buttons had a tougher time remembering than the when they were able to press the buttons when the faces showed up. I feel like this is true that memory and self-control compete. When I almost got into an accident and hit a pole and a fire hydrant I don’t remember what I was wearing or what my boyfriend was wearing, an instinct took over where no thoughts were occurring just actions, I just remember him saying my name and us having the car in-between the fire hydrant and telephone pole. If I did not almost get into an accident I probably would have had a better memory of what happened. Also find that this study helps with concussion testing, since we have to take a test to make sure we are clear and our brain is functioning fully. We are asked about shapes and phrases and other subjects during the test and at the end it is what we were first tested on that shows up at the end. I can see why memory gaps happen from this study.

  3. Having a private place where women can take there time and be comfortable changing they’re feminine and disposing of them properly is very important especially when it comes to sanitation. If a woman doesn’t have privacy when it comes to changing the menstrual products, they’re going to feel embarrassed about it of course but how they dispose of their used product is unsanitary and now that they have private latrines the women and even for the young teens they’ll feel more comfortable knowing that they have privacy to deal with their problem.

  4. The article “Breaking the Code” was very interesting. I have always seen the sentences messed up like that, but I have always wondered why I could read them. I never thought that our mind predicts the next thing that is about to be said, and now that I read that, I actually understand it. I also found it interesting how she said that we probably didn’t read every word right because we only thought what word would be next. I would really like to do further research and actually figure out how we can read those texts.

  5. The article “My husband is now my wife” was very interesting to me. I always hear about transgenders and wonder how it affects others in their lives and you don’t always hear about the how it negatively affects people. it was interesting to see that it can take such a bad toll on some people. I understand where Elizabeth is coming from in not wanting people to know. We are still in times were not everyone is accepting. In all honesty she took it better than i would if that were to ever happen to me. I am all for people expressing themselves and if changing your gender is something you need to do in order to find your happiness i say do it.

  6. My husband us now my wife is a very interesting article. For one thing I can imagine looking at my mother or father who I have always know to be certain way to suddenly change and become the other way around. It is indeed a very difficult thing in my view to see such thing happening in family. But this story of the man who became a wife to his wife after 30year of being together is find to be quite amusing. But that is the way thing are and we need to allow people be who they want to be.
    Another post I felt in love with is the one about menstruation. Women in under develop world have a hard time keeping their privacy like the article said. There is no dunkin donuts or stop and shop place with bathroom that you can run to change your pad if you need to or used their bathroom personally For other purposes. There are some country that people cannot afford their meal for the day less to say a pad for their menstrauation. Because such thing cause twice as much. So people use any cloth that are available to them. This is a big issue in many country. It will be good if something is done about it.

  7. Self-Control Competes with Memory

    I found this article interesting because it reminded me of the concussion tests athletes have to take before playing a sport and after a concussion. The test done in the study where the participants had to press a specific key when they saw a certain face is exactly like a concussion test, however concussion test uses shapes and letters. All in all this experiment was interesting and shows clearly that when the participants had to hold off on pressing a certain key when seeing a face they had worse memory and when they had to press a key they had better memory.


Categories

