Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | September 18, 2015

Friday Five – September 18, 2015

It has been another crazy, busy week. Exams in 3 of my 4 courses, and a short week for me, as I’m away at a conference (Atlantic Coast Teaching of Psychology) today and tomorrow. The conference doesn’t start until noon, today. So I have some time to get the blog posted.

Here are this week’s links:

Mental_floss (Jennifer M. Wood)

Mental_floss is reporting an infographic originally produced by Business Insider about common cognitive biases that impact our decision making.

Slate (Jessica Lahey)

Slate is sharing an excerpt from Jessica Lahey’s book The Gift of Failure: How the Best Parents Learn to Let Go So Their Children Can Succeed. Although my son is only 19-months old, his dad and I have been working hard to let him make mistakes and learn from them. As a control freak, this is challenging at times for me, but I know that, in the end, he’ll be much better off for it.

PsychCentral: Always Learning (Leigh Pretnar Cousins, MS) – September 17, 2015

I mentioned at the start that 3 of my 4 classes had exams this week, didn’t I? I strongly suspect that many students were a bit surprised by their grades. They probably thought they had studied enough. I think it’s safe to say that many didn’t. Perhaps they can learn from this link.

Psychology Today (Lisa Aronson Fontes, Ph.D.) – August 26, 2015

An abusive relationship may not just be about physical abuse.

Slate: XX Factor (Christina Cauterucci) – September 14, 2015

This is a make your think column, so I don’t want to influence your thoughts with any of my commentary. It will be interesting to see what those of you who chose this link think.

Just a reminder: Because I am using the free version of WordPress, I do not have control over the ads that may appear at the end of my posts. I hope none are offensive, and click with caution.

Responses

  1. I don’t believe a 13 year old boy should be charged with second degree assault for giving an unwanted kiss. Giving him detention, having him apologize, or telling his parents is a better punishment rather than having a second degree assault charge on his record for stealing a kiss. It’s child’s play teens do dares for fun and sometimes are being peer pressured.

  2. Having a child start a checklist now is easier and more helpful to them because it lets them know whether they’re doing things right and it also keeps them on task with everything. Checklists reduce anxiety making whatever they’re doing look manageable, they learn its a step by step process to receive good things, it helps them with time management, the checklist motivates them, gives them the ability to plan and organize, and it reduces parent-child conflict. By abiding what the checklists say it will make things easier for them and they wont have to dwell on so many things such as did I look up the research question or did I have math homework.

  3. I read the articles “Checklists Help Kids Get Studying Right” and “Should a 13-year- old boy who kissed a girl on a dare be charged with assault?”

    In the article about Checklists; I feel like this is a very effective strategy. Actually, I did a checklist before I read this article, I made my first to-do list of my college. Everything it says; especially when it says it reduces anxiety. I really feel like this article is really helpful and is telling the truth. As I do things on my checklist I cross them off and they make me feel like I’ve accomplished something. I really like this article and I find it ironic that I made a list before I read this.

    In the next article I do not find it right that the boy got charged. I feel like again, like they said; “boys do stupid things.” Many kids his age have done worse than him, yet they aren’t being charged. I feel like the girl was being over dramatic, yes I feel like the boy was in the wrong, and should be punished but not to that extreme. The boy is only 13 and doesn’t have a right sense of ethics and morals. This case could’ve been handled better.

  4. Reading “When Relationship Abuse Is Hard to Recognize” I found it interesting when the author said “Typically, an abuser will lavish attention on a woman at the beginning of the relationship. Over time, he becomes jealous, monitors her whereabouts, and restricts her interactions with others” because a lot of relationship my friends have been in, the boyfriend started off giving them nothing but attention then became jealous. It sad to see this happen but it does often.

    as for the 13 year old, I believe he should not be charged with assault. What he did was unacceptable but to be arrested is over dramatic. A good suspension from school or detention would of been more understandable.

  5. Should a 13-Year Old Boy Who Kissed a Girl on a Dare be Charged with Assault?

    The answer is no. Just no. To charge a 13 year old boy with assault for kissing a girl who was unwilling to engage in a kiss is absurd. It was wrong of the boy to grab the girl and kiss her but to bring second degree assault into the picture is idiotic. The boy is 13 years old and should know by now that he can’t do whatever he pleases with anyone he wants. With that being said the child should be subjected to discipline from his parents and the school. Whether the child is suspended or possibly expelled, those two solutions sound way more rational. Even though second degree assault is a misdemeanor in Maryland, cases like this usually do not result in a sentencing.

  6. Checklists Help Kids Get Studying Right

    Checklists are a great idea for students of all ages. I started using checklists my first year of college and it has helped me stay organized and has significantly reduced stress. For children, checklists would be great because they can be used as a list of instructions that tell the child what, when, and even how they can study. Using checklists especially at a young age will condition the child to be proactive and plan everything out accordingly. Lastly, checklists like this would help the child develop good studying habits.

  7. This week there was quite a few things that I found to be interesting in the blog. The one on how to do checklist for kids to study I found to be quite good not just for kids like you mention either but for my self. I find that quite a few time I have study something and felt that I know it so well but the test come and I don’t do so well like I expected. And this can be so discouraging. I will try to used this checklist and see how it workout for me.
    The second have to do with the thirteen year old boy that was charge for assault because he kiss a 14 years old girl. I feel that it was too much of a harsh punishment for him. Now I am not in agreement with what he did but feel that because of his age, there are other method of punishment that would have work better for him than prison. He need to learn not to unwanted grab a girl and kiss her unless she is willing to do so. And that was very stupid of him to do that. But like I said there are other ways to go about it than taking a thirteen year old to prison. That is just not right and he will be severally scary for a life time.

  8. I think that people don’t recognize relationship abuse, particularly if there’s no violence involved… Many people in this situation blame themselves or wait hoping that things will get better.

    The 13 year old that kissed a girl on a dare…. I woulda been in a lot of trouble if assault charges had been brought. I understand the premise of unwanted advances, but a part of me also feels that it’s a rite of passage


Categories

