Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | September 13, 2015

Friday Five – September 11, 2015 (A bit delayed)

The challenge of a 4-day week is that I spend most of it trying to figure out what day it is. When Friday rolled around, I honestly thought it was Thursday and that I still had another day before the blog needed to go up. Oops!

Sorry for the delay. Here are this week’s links:

Psychology Today: Your Online Secrets (Jennifer Golbeck, Ph.D.) – August 19, 2015

The person next to you yawns, then you yawn — unless you’re a psychopath? One of the reasons I am sharing this link is because the work of the new study on contagious yawning is based on the work of Steven Platek who was a grad student at University at Albany at the same time as I was earning my Ph.D. He was in the Physio Psych program, but we did have a few classes together. It’s kinda scary how small the world of psychology can be at times.

About Education (Kendra Cherry)

Made some bad decisions? Here’s some tips on making better ones in the future.

By the way, Kendra Cherry has a lot of good psychology information on About.com.

PsychCentral (Janice Wood) – September 12, 2015

Always checking your social media accounts? Might not be the best thing, especially at night before (or instead of) sleeping. I have several friends who have initiated conscious choices to cut back on their social media consumption – a few quit completely. They said it was just getting to be too much and they felt disconnected from the actual people around them.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention – September 1, 2015

While not the catchiest of titles, and not the most engaging read, this link is to a LOT of information shared by the CDC about teen sexuality and health.

Advertising Age (Ann-Christine Diaz) – September 13, 2015

What does it mean to “Run like a girl”? You may have seen the Always commercial before, but watch again.

One last comment: Because I am using the free version of WordPress, I do not have control over the ads that appear at the end of my posts. I hope none are offensive, and click with caution.

Responses

  1. I would agree to these are articles because I can relate to them throw baseball. When I’m pitching I can take a second to come my emotions of the game. Just how the researchers said it 50 to 100 milliseconds on the just sleep on it and the emotional Intelligence helps me on the pitchers mound that I can come down and relax. So in the end I also can look at the emotional outside look to the emotional problems that you can see. I can see emotion on the face of the batter that they are nerves and that I can understand what it is like. At that point I’m controlling the emotion of the game of baseball. This makes me to understand how to relate and work with the people in the game.

  2. This article on Why Psychopaths are Immune to Contagious Yawning was interesting. I have never heard that humans and their dogs can ”catch” yawns from each other. It was also very interesting that the participants in the test that didn’t yawn are possibly psychopaths. The article would have been more believable though, if the demographics of the people being tested, like the age, gender, and the amount of sleep people had the night before had been included. Also, the researcher needed to take into account the personalities of all the people that got tested. What if some of the people getting tested were preoccupied? I think that there needs to be more studies on the subject.

    Second Article of the comments

  3. There are four things that can help someone make better decisions. No matter what decisions we make they always influence our life in a good or negative manner. the first step to making better decisions is to think about it. If you think about something over night or even for 5 minutes you’ll make a better decision compared to just choosing anything at the moment. The second step is to improve emotional intelligence. Those who have low levels of emotional intelligence have been proven let they’re anxiety from another problem influence they’re decision making now compared to those with high emotional levels. The third step is to keep your stress level down. Stress often affects decision making in negative ways. The last step is to try looking at the problem in someone else point of view. Emotions often cloud ones judgment so viewing the situation through someone else eyes can help you make better decisions.

  4. Yawning is not only contagious in humans, it is also contagious in other species such as dogs. Empathy is one of the leading factors to contagious yawing. Psychopathy lacks empathy. The more cold-hearted the person is, the less likely they’ll catch a yawn. Psychopaths also have a typical trait of fearlessness and they also startle less compared to others.

  5. The 2 articles I chose to read were (Why Psychopaths are Immune to Contagious Yawning.) and (4 Things You Can Do to Make Better Decisions.)

    The first of the articles I found it to be very interesting. Just the thought of yawning to be more of a mental process of empathy rather then just the function of being tired is baffling to me. I found this research and the experiment to be of great use in understand how the mind of a psychopath works by simply explaining it in a much simpler manner. The experiment also revealed not just functions of effects of yawning on psychopaths but a little bit about the human mind in general, by showing how a mental process effects our body’s functions of a physical action.

    I agree very strongly with the second article in its steps for things that will help you make better decisions. It is very clear if ones mind is at ease then you will not have anything clouding your judgement. Also if one takes a longer time in making a decision you might be able to analyze it in a more understanding manner with better results in the decisions you take. They are very simple examples of the steps to things you can do that will help you make better decisions yet in its simplicity I find it to have its best rewards. Its simple, its effective and that is why I agree strongly with this article.

  6. The four things that are mention help greatly in making Decision great or small. We always need to pause before we can take any step toward making a decision. Because some of the decision we make affect our life and the lives of others around us. And rather than play that I wish I did not do this or that game, it is important that we take the necessary pause need. Sleep over it, getting the opinion of other so that we can see what will be the best decision we can make. If we need to postponed til a day or two we need to do it.

  7. Another article I found to be interesting Is the one on phychopath. I believe yawning is very contiguous In a few people. After reading this article I decided to try this at my place of work and almost everyone that I happen to sit with why pretending to yawn instantly began to yawn. Well I am not a phychopath but I believe that yawning is some howcontagious in everyone or in many people.

  8. The two articles I read are “Pressure for Social Media 24/7 Linked to Teen Anxiety & Depression” and “4 Things You Can Do to Make Better Decisions”

    In the first article, it brings to light the correlation between Social media and Anxiety. I do agree that sometimes social media can get taxing at times but I do not agree that it affects us in any way besides hurting are social skills and staying up later than usual to see what’s going on. I’m a believer that it is in the users hands to control their use of social media. I also believe the tests in the article are vague because other factors can affect anxiety and depression like there status in society.

    In the second article the tips they give to make decisions are generic but are well proven in helping to make better decisions. One thing I did learn from the article is that distancing yourself from a problem and looking at it from a different perspective helps when trying to make better decisions.

  9. The first I article was “4 things you can do to make better decisions”. As a person I feel your decision making can sometimes tell who you are. For me I am one of those individuals who feel I am a good decision maker. The article explained that giving time can make decision better which is true. Not all decisions can use time to determine if it was good or bad. Last minute decision usually do not have time. Stress and emotions are factors that can alter decision making. Emotional intelligence was mentioned in the article” researchers found that those with lower levels of emotional understanding tended to let their anxiety about others issues in their lives influence current decisions, while those who had high levels of emotional intelligence did not.” Emotions can be good or bad in decision making but emotions that have a effect on the decisions should be excluded. Paying attention to stress while making decisions determines the outcome being able to stay in check can improve decisions.

    I found “Pressure for Social Media 24/7 Linked to Teen Anxiety & Depression” very interesting because this study relates to my generation. Be apart of social media brings its own a pressure to individual. A main point that was mentioned in the article was sleep quality. Sleep quality is definitely interrupted by social media either through notifications or replying to texts. For some teens there is no switching off when it comes to social media. Majority of users are highly invested emotionally unlike being on the the computer all night, cellphones are being used throughout the day with social apps.

  10. What I learned from the article “Pressure for Social Media 24/7 Linked to Teen Anxiety & Depression” did not shock me. The author, Janice wood stated “The pressure to be constantly available and respond 24/7 on social media can cause depression, anxiety, and reduce sleep quality for teenagers.” The reason why it is not a surprise is because as a teen myself, I am on my phone at least 17 hours a day even if there is nothing to do on it. If im not on my phone I become anxious. Also, it is a problem for me to fall asleep every night because I cannot get off my phone, which leads me to be late to my class every morning.

    The article “4 Things You Can do to Make better Decisions” had excellent points on how to handle situations. The article said “thinking about it as an outsider and placing some distance between yourself and the situation can help you make wiser choices.” Which I believe is completely true because if you make decisions based off how your feeling and not the other persons feelings can cause a lot of damage. If you put yourself in the opposite situation, many problems can be avoided.

  11. 4 Things You Can Do to Make Better Decisions:

    I strongly agree with this article because it has a great amount of tips on how to make decisions on your own and how to make a decision that is best for you. I know that I utilize giving a decision some time, understanding my emotions towards a decision, and looking at the problem as an observer. I think that the hardest things to do when making a decision is the amount of time or thought you put into the decision, keeping your stress levels in check, and not letting your emotions get the best of you. In my mind it is very easy to just make a decision quickly rather than weighing out your options, but I think the reason for this is either your emotions are forcing the decision in a certain way or you are letting stress get to you emotionally. I don’t really think it’s possible to have all four factors in check and make a clear and right decision all the time regardless of the magnitude. I think that whenever a person makes a decision that could either affect them short term or long term, they should be able to make the decision based on who it will effect them and only them.

  12. Advertising Age (Ann-Christine Diaz) – September 13, 2015

    I remember seeing the Always: “Like a girl” commercial during the Superbowl and thinking that it was brilliant. There seems to be this stigma that girls and boys who throw, run, swim, or hit “like a girl” are considered weak. For women, they find this remark to be greatly offensive because remarks that target the entire gender like that, are basically signifying that they are weaker than men. For men they see this as sign of weakness or lack of skill. I believe that women should not take offense to idiotic comments like this due to the fact that women can just as easily become better than men at any athletic sport, and because of the amount of success female athletes in a variety of sports have had. A great example of this would be Ronda Rousey, a well renowned female mixed martial artist. Ronda advocates women to challenge themselves to get rid of the “like a girl” comments by engaging in sports or other activities that are known to be “for men”. Women should not let remarks like this dictate who they will be for the rest of their lives.

  13. Positive Parenting Practices, choosing to talk to your teen about sex was a validation for my parenting practices. I have two beautiful daughters whom I am close too. I tell them, what’s important to you, is important to me. They also understand, I, Mom, lives by a standard to be truth tellers. When we talk about sex, facts are a must and shared experienced are not to be judged or made fun of. We talk about relationships, because we will have them with everyone and everything as long as we are living. Its important for me to demonstrate and relaying the message of healthy living and healthy loving because I want them to experience the gratification of the human experience. I want them to believe there are so many ways to love and be loved. To seek knowledge and to work hard to obtain goals and dreams. What you put into this universe, you can expect to get back.


Categories

