Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | September 4, 2015

Friday Five – September 4, 2015

I have two classes (potentially) following this blog, so I have some pretty strong motivation to keep things going this semester. If I teach General Psychology II in the Spring, I will likely keep up the Friday Five posts.

Just a reminder to my students, make sure to post your comments HERE and not on the site of the links you follow. Also, remember that initial comments are moderated by me. I have to approve them before they are posted. In future weeks, if you use the same email address, your comments will appear as soon as you post them.

Here are the links to this week’s Friday Five:

Jezebel (Mark Shrayber) – September 3, 2015

Nothing like leading with the attention grabber. A friend shared this link on Facebook, last night. I commented that I was going to retweet the link and include it in the Friday Five. Because when you have a job that lets you blog about penis size, you just have to do it. She replied that it was a moral imperative that I include this.

Note that Jezebel is reporting on a story shared in the Daily Beast who, in turn, are reporting on a scholarly article published in PLOS One. The most accurate report of the study results are the ones in PLOS One.

Psychology Today: In Practice (Alice Boyes, Ph.D.) – August 20, 2015

You may say you don’t have negative views of that group, but what does your behavior say? This post talks about implicit and explicit attitudes and how to bring them more in line with one another.

PsyBlog (Jeremy Dean) – August 28, 2015

Jeremy Dean is reporting on a study published in the American Anthropologist on cultural views on romantic kissing. Like many popular press reports of scholarly studies, it is missing some of the finer details of the original article. One of my friends was annoyed that the PsyBlog post didn’t provide a breakdown of the countries and their views. That information IS in the full article.

Medical News Today – September 4, 2015

What are the symptoms of depression? How does depression affect one’s work and daily life? Results of a survey of depressed adults shows instances of cognitive dysfunction.

PsyPost (Washington State University) – September 1, 2015

How much sleep you get is important, but so is when you sleep.

One last comment: Because I am using the free version of WordPress, I do not have control over the ads that appear at the end of my posts. I hope none are offensive, and click with caution.

Responses

  1. The 2 articles I chose to read was (The timing of sleep just as important as quantity), and (Cognitive Dysfunction in Depression: Are Important Symptoms of Depression Going Unnoticed and Untreated?).

    Well I would have to agree with the first article on the fact that its true timing is key to good sleep. Our body’s run on a internal clock that I myself have experienced can be programmed by ones timing of sleep. If one accustoms the body to sleep regularly on a certain time you will notice the body to become sleepy or tired around that same time. Pretty much its not rocket science it all depends on yourself to take control of your body to achieve good sleep.

    The second article I read was interesting to me in the fact that depression and cognitive dysfunction go hand in hand as a problem. Well personally as someone who suffers from depression myself I can say that in my episodes of depression, cognitive dysfunction happens quite frequently. The reason i say depression and cognitive dysfunction go hand in hand is because the functions of ones brain are very important to combat depression itself. Keeping the mind busy and occupied or interested in something helps a great deal with my depression, but if the brains functions are fogged its harder for a episode to pass, do to the stressing and anger of trying to make sense of things or understand situational problems. Treatment for depression in my opinion is very hard to actually find due to the different circumstances and types of depression. But I’m very glad that research is being done to actually find better solutions to problems caused by depression.

  2. Study finds that only 46% of cultures engage is romantic/sexual kissing, as other cultures find lip-to-lip kissing uncomfortable or disgusting.The study examined 168 cultures where kissing occurs and where it does not. Some cultures find it a strange way to show intimacy majority of the cultures studied fell into this category. Kissing is more popular in cultures in North America, Europe, and Asia compared to cultures in Sub-Saharan Africa, New Guinea, and Central America where it is a no-romantic-kissing-zone. Most kissing occurs to see if the two people are compatible with one another. In some cultures, where oral hygiene isn’t at its best, kissing could lead to a spread of respiratory or other illnesses.

  3. i learned from this article that the timing of your sleep matters in the long run. The quality of sleep is what matters the most. Four hours of sleep in the middle of the day, with the light shining in on you will be alot worse for you then four hours in the middle of the night when its quiet and dark. The researchers changed mice 24 hours days to 20 hour days and found out they were still sleeping the same amount of hours. Except the mice whose days were 24 hours long were having more quality sleep.

  4. While reading the article about penis size; in general women’s preferences to a one-night stand and long term relationship only differed slightly. The average penis that women prefer in a long term relationship is 6.3 inches in length and 4.8 inches in diameter. For a one night stand women prefer their contenders to be 6.4 inches in length and 5 inches in diameter. This is nothing drastic in the change as many people would think. When looking at the title I thought that more women would in fact want a “Super Penis” instead of what was normal, I am glad I am mistaken. Looking at the pictures of the 3D models I was appalled by what some of them looked like. I was cringing with the ones that were very large in diameter because it looks like it would really hurt and love making (for long term relationships) and sex (for one night stands) should not be painful. All in all I found that this article could use a lot more information to provide a more in depth study.

  5. I decide to read the article about romantic kissing and I learned that only
    about 46% of cultures believe in romantic kissing across the world . I think that
    there nothing wrong with kissing because it show a love and compassion for some that you could be in a relationship with. Romantic kissing start in the middle east which shocked me because I would have thought it start in the Europe origin. Parts of the world like Central America and parts Africa you will not find any type of romantic kissing. I think that romantic kissing is for people who are into doing that because you don’t just do it with a random person you do with someone you have a deep feeling for and you can see yourself with them for a long period of time.

    I also looked at the article about depression, which I believe that is nothing that should be left alone if you feel or someone that is going threw depression you should get yourself or that person some help. 99% people who have depression had some form of a symptom of it but let it go without telling anyone. Depression is a big thing if you feel like you have you need talk to someone about because can lead up to thing that you do not want in your life.

  6. Kissing: The Countries Where it is Considered Uncomfortable or Disgusting

    I liked how the authors tried to explain scientifically that when humans exchange pheromones and saliva through kissing, it’s almost as if we are testing the compatibility between each other. I also do not agreed with the statements about how less developed countries are more likely to not engage in romantic kissing due to the lack of oral hygiene and spread of illness. My opinion on romantic kissing is that it varies by person and not so much as a society. To label an entire society as a “kissing-free zone” is far too extreme, seeing how everyone has different preferences no matter what part of the world they are from.

  7. I read two of your post one on Kissing and the other on sleep I find very interesting.
    First the Kissing article bring out how some cultures think it is a taboo to kissing romantically. Well in my culture I people feel it is ok to do so as long as you are doing it in the privacy of your own home with no kids or senior citizens or mature people there to watch you do it. Because people find it most offensive when you do that. But the fact that some people around the world thank that this should not happen at all is mine blowing to me.

    And the second article about sleep I find quite interesting because some time we don’t understand how important sleep is and believe that if we get a few hours it will be okay. That is far from the truth because you feel even worse with a little sleep then when you don’t get any at all. Quite recently I went the day with just an hour sleep because I work the night before but at the end of the day I had such a strange feeling that I have never experienced before. I felt like I was going to pass out or something. It just makes me realize that sleep is very much important and should not be taken for granted.

  8. The Timing of Sleep Just as Important as Quantity

    In this article a lot of big words were thrown at me so i tried to look up some meanings and understand what exactly was going on. What I interpreted from this article was that sleep deprivation over time can harm your body. I also found it interesting that the slightest change in time of which you go to bed, can drastically change the overall quality of your sleep.This is caused by a sudden change in your biological clock, leaving it out of sync with the light dark cycle. Lastly, I have experienced first hand getting sick from lack of sleep, and it can really lengthen the time in which you are sick and lower your immune system.

  9. 99% of people diagnosed with depression have experienced on symptom of cognitive dysfunction, Survey says that these symptoms may have a huge impact on the individuals work life. 1 in 6 people suffering from cognitive dysfunction in depression report that symptoms have caused them to lose they’re job. People have said it is hard to talk to others, normal hobbies and interests are more difficult to do and everyday chores are more difficult to complete. three quarters of people diagnosed report lack of interest and feel less confident at work. Memory and decision making is underestimated. This may cause people to withdraw from they’re professional and personal life. Depression is a complex disorder that cause emotional, cognitive and physical symptoms that affect peoples lives.

  10. I am responding to the article posted for the Friday5 “3D-Printed Penises Reveal that Women Prefer Normal Sized Dicks to Anacondas by Jezebel”

    I read the article expecting to be mind blown by some facts about abnormally large penises, yet I wasn’t surprised at all by the information I read. According to the article it was proven that women prefer penises average in length and circumference. This is something that sounded very normal to me. I feel as though I can speak for my fellow woman and say that most people don’t prefer a 4 incher, and aren’t thrilled about whats to come when a man pulls out their 8 to 10 inch penis. As learned in class, penis sizes have evolved over time, and the human male has developed abnormally long genitals. The article also mentions that larger phallus’s are preferred in sexual interactions amongst men who are only a one night stand. I don’t find this hard to believe because woman who are engaging in one night stands have intentions that their one night is going to be extremely glorious and worth the time; therefore, slightly larger than average men are ideal for this particular situation.

    I feel like the study was confirmation that size isn’t the deciding factor in many relationships, but it DOES matter. I think this study would be interesting to conduct in different age groups of woman with different preferences in a college scenario.

  11. The two articles I read were “Cognitive dysfunction in depression: are important symptoms of depression going unnoticed and untreated? and The timing of sleep just as important as quantity”.

    Upon reading the article what amazed me was the damage cognitive dysfunction can do to a depress individual. As said in the article only 3% of people who had a job or did voluntary work mention that the dysfunction had no affect. Now this means the other 97% percent were suffering from this disorder, which had a impact on their personal lives. Cognitive symptoms makes it hard for the individual to have a normal life in a work environment. Survey results indicate that 75% of people diagnosed with depression felt less confident while 76% lack focus and lost interest. According to the article this can also be seen as a global issue “. Government-commissioned research in 2010 found that people unable to work because of depression lose £8.97 billion of potential earnings per year in England.These findings demonstrate the importance of addressing cognitive dysfunction in depression if patients are to live a normal working life.*” This dysfunction impact individuals differently but about 50% agree that it makes everyday living hard.

    I was not surprised that the shift in cycle of the mice could impact their immune system. From personal experience I had encounters with sleep deprivation while working overnight shifts. Not as the test ran on the mice but the experience was similar because I was not getting enough sleep. The cycle change weakens the immune system, this irregular cycle also impacts brain activity. Sleep deprivation is a serious issue, the test gives clear insight on how much damage can be done when brain activity is being reduced and immune system weakening.

  12. The two articles I have read were “Cognitive dysfunction in depression” and “Kissing: The Countries Where It’s Considered Uncomfortable or Disgusting.”

    After reading the article about depression, it amazed me to know that people have lost their jobs over cognitive dysfunction in depression. The article explains how depression can impact us on our education, work, and personal life, which I can agree on. Stated in the article, “Three quarters of people diagnosed with depression reported lacking focus or interest in what they were doing at work (76%) and feeling less confident at work (75%) due to their cognitive symptoms.” When I am depressed, my interest on things become lower. I do not care about things I should care about and I rather just lay down or sleep all day which causes me to be behind on a lot of things.

    What I found interesting in the article “Kissing: The Countries Where it’s considered uncomfortable or disgusting” is that Central America was part of the “no-romantic-kissing zones.” The reason I find this interesting is because there is different types of Spanish in Central America and spanish is a romantic culture but it did not shock me to read that parts in Africa is an kissing free zone.

  13. The article I read “Kissing: The Countries Where It’s Considered Uncomfortable or Disgusting.” did not come to a surprise to me. I understand where a lot of the cultures are coming from. I didn’t think the stats would be so low, meaning that only 46% of the world actually have romantic kissing as a thing. My question to the cultures who don’t indulge in romantic kissing, what do they do? In America I know people kiss to show affection, I would like to know what other cultures do. I was not surprised that so many cultures find kissing disgusting, I personally don’t find it disgusting, the only thing I don’t like is public kissing. I found this article very interesting because I never realized that so many people don’t kiss romantically.

    In the second article I read is “The timing of sleep is just as important as the quality.” This article was interesting because I take naps all the time when I shouldn’t. I never really realized how timing could affect your health. I knew if you didn’t get enough sleep that you could get sick. But I didn’t realize when you slept could. This mad me realize that I need to be more cautious when I sleep, especially in college. I need to learn when to study, and when to sleep. This article was very informative because not a lot of people realize how important sleep is.


Categories

