Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | November 9, 2012

Friday Five – November 9, 2012

It has been another interesting week in the life of an academic. It started with a sick day on Monday because of problems with a kidney stone. Tuesday was Election Day, and I must say, personally, I’m very happy with the results on both the national and issue level across the country. Wednesday, I was out of work early for some doctor’s appointments and then driving home in the first snowfall of the season. Thursday, I was out of work early to go get lithotripsy on the problem kidney stone. And now, I’m to Friday, getting this post written and also prepping for Spring Registration. All I can say is that I’m happy I didn’t have any papers or tests to grade and didn’t have any committee meetings this week.

So here are this week’s picks:

The Psychologist (Vol 25, Issue 9) – September 2012

I found this The Psychologist interview with University of Bath (England) researcher Ian Walker to be an interesting intersection of real-world issues and social psychological theory. In the interview, Walker points out that many of the issues in road design in regards to bikers (and also pedestrians) has to do with popular attitudes about bikers in relation to car drivers. Specifically, Walker points out that cycling is possibly viewed as infantile in comparison to driving. I think he has a good point here: bikes are generally something we used for transportation when we were still too young to drive.

I have actually put out a request to my friends who are cyclists to respond on this link. Students, I encourage you to come back and read what they have to add.

Psychology Today: In Love and War (Juliana Breines) – November 5, 2012

Early in the week, I was trying to decide if I wanted to include something about the election in this week’s picks, and I decided I was going to stay away from politics. Then, I found myself retweeting this particular link at least twice during the week. Personally, some of the absurd comments made about rape during this campaign season made my blood boil. From my perspective as a sexuality educator, I am horrified by the amount of misinformation and complete lack of information about sexuality and reproduction is out there.

Sadly, the research on rape myths is not new. I was doing research on the role of alcohol in attribution of responsibility in a rape scenario as an undergraduate student back in 1993. Basically, if alcohol is involved, the “victim” is blamed more and the perpetrator is blamed less – this is regardless of who has consumed alcohol, but particularly if the “victim” has consumed alcohol.

The last line of this link particularly resonated with me, and is why I chose to link this particular column. Essentially, the rape comments made during this year’s election season do not just reflect a few poorly chosen words, but rather reflect a belief system deeply rooted in our culture.

PsyPost (Massachusetts General Hospital) – November 7, 2012

This link piqued my general interest when it came across my Twitter feed on Wednesday. I knew that my lithotripsy on Thursday required anesthesia, so it was even more interested this week. After waking up briefly in the middle of the lithotripsy procedure on Thursday, rather than be shocked, I was somewhat amused by my new knowledge of consciousness and anesthesia. (O.k., to be honest, I was amused post procedure when I was conscious again and had confirmed with the anesthesiologist that I correctly recalled waking up briefly.)

I will acknowledge that this link is particularly high in the use of medical jargon, and expects the reader to have a decent level of knowledge about the brain and neural activity.

Psychology Today: Critical Decisions (Peter Ubel) – November 7, 2012

I chose this link for a couple of reasons. First, it references Charles Duhigg’s The Power of Habit, which a colleague and I just used to support an approach to curriculum design that we hope to present at a conference this spring. Second, it points out some simple differences that training can make in handling people. So why is the barista a better people person than an experienced physician? Training. While physicians build lots of knowledge during their medical training, they get very little training in people skills.

PsyPost (Vanderbilt University) – November 7, 2012

Beyond the basic findings of the study reported in this link, I also liked the description of how the researchers needed to train their monkey participants before they could do the testing at the neuronal level. Intro students, you should see some application of Chapter 5 material here.

And an amusing bonus link:

Bedsider – May 10, 2012

I felt a little bad last week after not providing many links for my Human Sexuality students as previous weeks. I’m also totally amused by both the poster and the PSAs in this link.

Responses

  1. Weighing in on the cyclist idea… (and as a cyclist and a vegetarian, the other constituency mentioned there)
    I was just talking to a colleague about this the other day with the time change. I had to get out my Big Bad Flashy Lights for when I come home from work, since we’re now hitting dusk shortly after 5 pm. Interestingly, I qualitatively find that I’m treated better and with a wider berth on the roads when I’m sporting flashy lights. I wonder how much of this is the fact that psychologically, I look a whole lot more like a motorized vehicle under these conditions than when I’m out on the bike during the day.

  2. The two articles I read were “Interview: Vulnerable road users” and “She Asked For It: The Impact of Rape Myths”.

    The first article was interesting to read because they made the point that bikers and pedestrians were not acknowledged as much on the road because they are not cars. They do not get the majority of the road like cars do, even though they are forms of transportation as well. I agree that social status has an effect on this because the driver’s behavior while on the road determined how much space was given to the biker that was on the road as well.

    The second article about rape myths was shocking because some of the myths seem illogical and unethical. I feel like more people are going to believe that the victims of rape are at fault if some actually believe these myths. If a person does not consent to the sexual activity when asked, then that person is being taken advantage of. The myths are just excuses for the perpetrators to get off the hook, especially if alcohol is involved.

  3. Without speaking to the actual science surrounding bicycle/vehicle interactions and the psychology thereof, I can attest that yes, people just do not see bicycles sometimes. These are drivers that obviously (after the fact) are mortified that they nearly smeared me into road pizza. I’m sure they would have chosen to not threaten me with violent death if they’d seen me.

    Conspicuity is always on the mind of bikers who regularly travel in traffic. I own the “visible clothing” that I wear, and I have about a dozen lights on my bike when I’m riding on the road, but speaking as a traffic engineer and cyclist, I see the need to have more physical separation between motor vehicles and bicycles. This is a policy and economic issue, difficult to solve at times.

  4. The two articles I read were “She Asked For It: The Impact Of Rape Myths”, and “Study Discovers How Brain Activity Changes When Anesthesia Induces Unconsciousness.

    How often do you hear the phrase, “She’s asking for it”? Apparently too much. Over the years myths pertaining to rape have become detrimental to society. It is terrifying to think that a rapist justifies his action due to a myth. I found it interesting how the U.S Congressman had the ignorance to even entertain the idea of a “voluntary rape”. No matter how a person acts or dresses, the question of wanting rape should never be asked. Also it was interesting that when a study was taken, rapists had justified their actions with these myths. The fact that society is creating these type of myths is terrifying. It is only a matter of time until these myths become acceptable.

    I had found the article pertaining to unconscious brain activity particularly interesting. Also, I was surprised to find that anesthesiologists were doing their job even though they are unaware of the affects of anesthetics on the brain. Throughout my life my one fear was waking up during surgery. I always wondered, “what would happen if the anesthetics didn’t work?”. However, it was very interesting to find out how much of the brain is actually working while one is “Under the Knife”. Hopefully doctors will be able to use new technology in order to control the amount of activity of the brain while being administered with an anesthetic.

  5. The first article I read was “Doling Out Mental Healthcare with your Latte.” I believe it is true that doctors do not really take time out to help a single person. They feel they do not have enough time to care about just one patient because they have so many. It is a good thing that Starbucks goes through this training because people can actually rely on them when they have a problem. I agree that everyone that wants to go to the medical field should get some training like Starbucks does too. They can become caring phyisicians instead of the ones that are just there to make money.

    The second article I looked at was the bonus article, “Top 10 Most Dangerous Spots to have Sex.” I also thought it was hilarious. Nobody really thinks about how dangerous these places are when they are in the moment. The PSA’s made me laugh. It was a good way to say use birth control. I think it grabs peoples attention more than a serious commercial. It kind of educates people.

  6. Just the title alone of “she asked for it” in regards of rape is total wrong and disrespectful a lot females are raped now a days more than usual. I also found it very offensive that the U.S Congressmen would go along with the “voluntary rape” what if his mother or sister was a rape victim would he still think it was voluntary rape I wouldn’t think so. That shows that the world can be a terrible place to live I take rape as a very serious situation as should everyone else.

    I found the article relating to the brain while being unconscious very interesting but scary. I always wondered what happens to the brain when someone is unconscious does it continue to operate or does it shut off. I biggest fear is having a operation on my brain and all of a sudden I woke up and felt everything. That would be a lot of pain I do not want to witness, I already hate the doctors as it is let alone hospitals!

  7. The first article I read was “She Asked For It: The Impact Of Rape Myths.” This article talks about a very far fetched myth. “Women can’t get pregnant from rape.” Supossably a congressman was trying to make excuses for preditors. I think that statement is not only ignorant but also absolutely ridiculous. Rape is a very serious topic as we all know. This article also talks about students speaking against rape. After participating in a study to test their likelyness of rape.

    The second article I read was “New insight why haste makes waste.” While reading this I was reminded of our class discussion on friday and how the letters were displayed quickly. The image instilled in our minds for a moment and we would forget a lot of the letters. The old saying “good comes to those who wait” turns out to be more believable then we would think. Studies show that we make more mistake when we act quickly thne if we take the time to think things through.

  8. I read the article, “she asked for it: the impact of rape myths” and I found it disturbing that there are really rapist out there that believe its not their fault. There is no way that a women can say no, and a man can still have sex with them and think that’s okay. Also, I find it crazy how there are people in the world that if there was no punishment, then they would rape a girl. This just shows how many sick people are in the world.

  9. The first article that i read was on “Vulnerable Road Users.” I agree with the article by it saying that cyclists and walkers are in danger to cars. How cars act according to the amount of space they are given is also true in the article. Drivers do not like to share the space of the road, and I found that true and selfish. But overall the article was not that interesting to me.

    The second article that I read was the “She asked For It” article. Reading this article made me kind of sick because thats sad that some men rape because they feel that women want sex. If you accept the rape myths then you should get checked out before you eventually cause harm to another person. Rape is pretty much forcing someone to get involved in sexual contact with you without their permission. Its not right at all for any person to force another individual to do something.

  10. The first article I read involved rape myths. I believe that there are instances where females over exaggerate when it comes to bring raped in order to play victim. I do Believe that the “she asked for it” myth makes sense. Women do wear provacative clothing and give off sexual flirtations that allow for rapes to occur, especially if women are under the influence.

    The second article I read involved vulnerable road users. I believe that bikes and cyclists are the most apt to being in accidents on the road. I also feel like they abuse their power on the road. They think they are invisible because they can weave in and out of traffic however they fail to realize if they drive fast they are more likely to get injured or even possibly killed.

  11. The first article I read was “She Asked For It: The Impact of Rape Myths”. It pertains to the growing use of the phrase “she’s asking for it”. The phrase is mostly related to incidents in which girls are raped. Rapists really believe that it’s not their fault when girls get drunk and have sex with them, even thought the girl said no it can’t control her actions. Rape has been a hot topic in the latest election with the congressmen speaking about “legitimate rape”. I think rape is rape, regardless of what the girl says when she in intoxicated you should not have sex with her. Now a days, guys will take any chance they get which has resulted in more rape charges.

    The second article I read was “Interview: Vulnerable road users”. They said that bikers are not as recognized as cars because they are not cars. I agree with that because when i drive I’m looking at cars in front of me because im driving one, i do not believe bikes should go on the road. The only time i notice them is when someone is riding really slow on the side of the road and they are slowing traffic down. Most foreign countries have bike lanes on every road, and that’s what i think the US should have.

  12. •She Asked For It: The Impact of Rape Myths
    At times it can be tough to determine if a sexual act was rape or not.For example, if a 19 year old has sex with a 16 year old. However, if one person says that they dont want to have sex, the other should not continue to pursue it. Also, a girl is not “asking for it” when they are dressed a certain way. THat should never be a legitimate excuse.

    •Top 10 Most Dangerous Spots to Have Sex
    This was definitely an amusing link. Based off the poster, it seems that there are no safe places to have sex. The PSAs seemed to get their message across in an effective way. It is true that somebody should not give up on birth control since they dont give up on sex.

  13. She asked for it:
    That congressman who made that comment must not have a daughter! People should think before they speak. Whether a female is drunk or not, how can any human being believe that she asked for it. Granted, woman should try not to get drunk so they can not be a target of rape but there are woman who get raped just walking down the street. I personally think that anyone who rape someone is a coward.

  14. The first article that I read about rape myths was very interesting. Its crazy how these myths somehow blame the vicitm and not the perpetrator. Rape is wrong and a person never asks to be raped, as one of the myths is that some women wear provocative clothing and things like that and they are just asking for it. Its scary how society believes that.

    The article about bikes/pedestrians and drivers was interesting to read because it is true that cyclists and pedestrians were not seen as much because they are not cars. Cars like space and sometimes cyclists are going to slow and sometimes cars just dont see them at all. Back were I use to live bike lanes were put on alot of streets when there were constantly car and bike accidents. I also think that its not just the driver that has to be aware, but also the cyclist.

  15. The two articles I read were “She Asked For It: The Impact of Rape Myths” and “The Top 10 Most Dangerous Spots to Have Sex”.

    The first article I read was interesting to me. I feel like women can become pregnant from getting raped. It can also be considered legitimate because the guy is most likely raping the girl without a condom. No girl is asking to get raped, it is a terrible thing to do. It negatively affects the girl’s life. She may enter into a depressed state and not want to live for anything anymore. Girls may wear very reveiling clothes but that doesnt mean she wants you to go and rape her.

    The second article i read was amusing. People have various spots where they have sex. It doesnt matter where you are planning to have sex, as long has you use a condom and birth control. The poster i thought was very funny. I think the most common place to have sex is the bedroom. If you are cautious, you shouldnt be falling off of the bed.

  16. The first article I read was, “She Asked For It: The Impact of Rape Myths”. I found this article to be very important because we are seeing a disturbing increase in the amount of rapes there are. This seems to be happening because more and more people are falling victim to these “rape myths.” Believing a woman cannot get pregnant from rape or men can’t control their sexual urges all the time almost seems foolish, but to others it makes sense. Some men also have convinced themselves that if women are intoxicated that saying “no” means saying “yes.”

    The second article I read was, “Interview: Vulnerable Road Users”. Most people can relate to this interview, whether it be as the driver or the cyclist/walker. Personally, as a driver, I despise seeing a cyclist as I am driving. I do not consider them to be inferior or infantile because I know that they are just trying to go from one place to another. Some places have started implementing specified areas where cars and cyclists are allowed to move. This helps with conflicts of one intruding in the others space.

  17. The two articles I read this week were “The Top 10 Most Dangerous Spots to Have Sex” and “She Asked For It: The Impact of Rape Myths”

    The top ten most dangerous are spots that I would have never thought of. It said in a bedroom and shower which I feel like are normal spots to have sex in. It was funny looking at all the spots though and thinking about how people get intimate probably daily in all those spots.

    The article about the rape myths. It was crazy reading how some people blame the victim and how they act like they wanted it to happen and they enabled the situation to take place. I also think that women can’t really shut down their system when getting raped so I still think that they can get pregnant while getting raped. I kind of disagreed with a lot of what this article was saying.

  18. “Top Ten Places To Have Sex” was the funniest article I’ve read on here. When I saw the picture, I couldn’t help but laigh. I don’t think anybody would even consider half of those places to be dangerous. I like the way the PSAs sent out the message so people can see how important birth control really is and be more serious about it.

    The other that I read was “She Asked For It: The Impact of Rape Myths”. I thought that there was some nonsense in that article. Rape is such a horrible thing. No one asks to be raped. Just because someone is saying something or doing something to possibly provoke the person from doing what they are not supposed to do, does not give them the right to do it anyway.

  19. The two articles I decided to read were “She Asked For It: The Impact of Rape Myths” and “Top 10 Most Dangerous Spots to Have Sex”. Both articles were very interesting to me.

    I was really interested in the first article about rape myths. I disagree with when the article said victims “asked for it” from wearing sexy clothing or acting a certain way. I think that just because they wear whatever they want or act differently doesn’t give the other person the right to force themselves on the victim. When in reality, the victim most likely was under the influence of drugs or alcohol. So it’s worse on the person committing the rape because they were most like sober and taking advantage of the situation.

    I found the second one to be hilarious. Never would I have thought the bedroom was a dangerous place to have sex. To me, I thought it would’ve been seen as the safest place due to privacy and it being the most common place where people have sex. The only understandable place would be the garden because you could be seen by neighbors or even worse get on trouble by the police.

  20. The first article I read was “She Asked For It: The Impact of Rape Myths.” Honestly the title is aggravating because how does a girl asked to get raped. No one wants to go through that pain and definitely does not ask for it. It’s sad that people think it’s okay to even do such a thing to someone.
    The next article I read was “Interview: Vulnerable Road Users” It’s interesting because people may not notice bike riders while driving when they should because of the safety issue. Bike riders and cyclists have a right to ride around and some drivers get inpatient waiting for them to go by.Everyone is going to one place from another and people should not get hassled for it.

  21. The two articles I read were “Top 10 Most Dangerous Spots to Have Sex”, and “Interview: Vulnerable Road Users”.

    The first article I looked at was “Top 10 Dangerous Spots to Have Sex”. I found this particularly funny and Ironic. I found it ironic because some of these places are extremely common in everyday sex which I found hilarious. I never would of though the bedroom or shower would have been dangerous!

    The second article “Interview:Vulnerable Road Users”. I found this article interesting. Especially seeing where the bike accidents were most common, but I could completely understand that due to drivers these days not checking blind spots and such, but at the same time I feel like bikers and cyclist are too comfortable and expect everyone to see them, so I feel as if they need to be more aware to avoid these things.

  22. The first article i read was “she asked for it”. I dont believe if a female dresses in a certain way it should make them more ceceptable to rape. I also think rape is a touchy subject because sometimes it is hard to determine if a sexual act was really rape or not. For example, if a 18 year old has sex with a 16 year old. This should not be considered rape unless one partner makes it perfectly clear they do not want to have sex. Also, women have taken advantage of rape in the past. Such as woman saying a celebrity raped them or for example the duke lacrosse team a few years ago. Nonetheless though rape is a problem, but no female is “asking” for it.

    The second article i read was “top ten most dangerous spots to have sex”. I found this article amusing and interesting. For the fact that some of the places mentioned, you would have never thought were dangerous. I guess people should rethink where there having sex and be a little more cautiouse, even in there own bedrooms.

    • “Top Ten Places to have sex” was the most entertaining article I’ve read so far on here. I saw the picture that they showed and just laughed while my roommate and friends were doing the same. The places that were on the list were not a dangerous place at all it made no sense to me why they said that. I think the PSA did a good job of giving out on birth control.

      “She asked for it: The impact of rape myths” was very interesting article because that’s what everyone says when charged with rape “she asked for it…..” When they know that they forced it upon the other person. The victim is usually influenced with alcohol or drugs and they always don’t know what is going on in the moment.


Categories

