Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | September 28, 2012

Friday Five – September 28, 2012

O.k. another very busy week. It was a slow start on the productivity front, but I’ve finally gotten through all the highly time-sensitive items on my to-do list. In order to get this out while it’s still workday Friday, this week’s post is short and sweet. In other words, I didn’t summarize the links. You’ll have to discover them for yourself!

Here are this week’s choices:

CNN Health: The Chart (Jacque Wilson) – September 20, 2012

Psychology Today: Do The Right Thing (Thomas Plante) – September 24, 2012

PsychCentral:World of Psychology (Margarita Tartakovsky) – September 28, 2012

ABC News: Good Morning America (Lauren Hughes) – September 27, 2012

  • Two similarly-themed links I couldn’t decide between, so you’re getting both.

Psychology Today: Compassion Matters (Lisa Firestone) – September 25, 2012

Psychology Today: Insight is 20/20 (Seth Meyers) – September 27, 2012

And a bonus link for my PSY101 students who have their first exam on Monday. It’s not too late to put some of these strategies into practice (assuming you are reading this on Friday or Saturday and not Sunday night).

About.com: Psychology (Kendra Cherry) – September 25, 2012

Responses

  1. The two article I read were “Your Memory is Like a Game of Telephone” and “”Social Aggression” Plagues Most Kids’ Shows”.

    In the first article, “”Social Aggression” Plagues Most Kids’ Shows” I actually agreed with the author. Children should not be watching shows that aren’t of their target age. It sets a bad example on them. I know if I had a child and they were being negatively affected by a television show I wouldn’t be a happy parent. I felt the article overall was very interesting.

    I think the second article was pretty cool. I never knew our brains could really mix up information like that. Not only that, but within a couple of days too. Researchers stated that within two days their participants for the memory test placed the object farther from where it was supposed to originally be. So basically our memories are exactly like a big game of telephone with all the information we receive.

    • The two articles I read were “Your Memory is Like a Game of Telephone” and “Social Aggresion Plagues Most Kids’ Shows”
      I thought both these articles were interesting and true. My memory really is like the game telephone, if I hear something over and over and I think it is important I will remember it. For instance if I record one of my lectures and I listen to it I will most likely start to remember what is said during the lecture but if I hear the same story over and over again I may not remember it because its not important to me. I also agree with the fact that aggresion is a plague in most child shows. Look at Teen Titans for example it’s all about fighting and being the winnner of fights. Another example of this is in the show Spongebob the characters are always going back and forth and being mean and rude to eachother

  2. The first article that I read, “Your Memory Is Like A Game of Telephone” was so true. I feel like the more I repeat or continuously hear something, the better I will remember it. For example, if I listen to a song song for the first time, I’m not going to remember it like that. I would have to hear it a couple more times before I can remember all the lyrics. Then, there are things that don’t seem important to me and I will not remember them.

    The second article that I read, “Social Aggression Plagues Most Kids’ Shows” was interesting as well. Certain television shows might not cause a child to have aggression physically but can cause the child to say things that are aggressive to others.

  3. The two articles I read were “Social Aggression” Plagues Most Kids Shows and What’s Wrong With Infidelity?

    It is clear that television shows nowadays do play a role on how kids grow up. They are exposed to such an attitude that makes them feel like it is okay to act a certain way. It is essential for parents to be more aware of what they allow their children to watch, because this can greatly impact their social development. I believe if children are introduced to name calling and harrassment through television, they will be more prone to adapt to these characteristics in their real life. Bullying is already a problem amongst children, so it is imperative for parents to be on top of their game. If they want to let their children watch certain shows that portray negative values, they need to teach their children that they are just acting, and it is not socially acceptable to follow these negative behaviors seen on TV.

    In the second article I read that talked about infidelity, I learned that most people are happy with their marriage during the time of their infidelity. This is surprising to me because most people I know that have been in unfaithful relationships have been miserable in these relationships, which has led them to cheat on their significant other. I was ever in a relationship with someone who was unfaithful, I would not be happy. The Do’s and Don’ts gave good advice. I think it is vital to hold on to your friendships because from personal experience I do find that I have a variety of friends which offers advice from different angles. It is also very important to allow your partner to keep their friends, regardless of their gender. This will show your girlfriend, wife, boyfriend, etc. that you can trust them and hopefully this can build your relationship even stronger. Some advice I took is to never lie to your love interest and don’t send false messages to potential love interests, especially when you have more than one.

  4. The two articles that I decided to read were, “Social Aggression Plagues most kid shows”, and “Your memory is like a game of telephone.”

    The first article I can really relate to because I have two younger brothers who are in the age category researched in the article. Some of the shows on tv are really not for kids even though its on a kids network. Kids repeat whatever they hear. They will hear a character that is a bully on tv and repeat it out loud. I dont think that these shows make them bad kids and change how they behave. They just repeat whatever is done or said in the show. That is why kids should be restricted to watching only certain shows.

    The next article I read was about how our memory works. Each time we remember something, our brain adds or forgets information. Also the more we try to remember somthing, the more messed up it gets. I can see how that would happen. Like if you try to cram info into your head before a test the night before, and you try to remember it the day of the test, it is all mixed up. This happens to me all the time when I try to cram fot a test the next day, so I try to limit doing that because it doesnt work.

  5. The first article I read was about infidelity. This article really interested me because it showed how common cheating has become. Not only in men but women too. But like the article kind of talks about, we all know cheating is happening. A lot of people who cheat claim to be unhappy and I found it very interesting to see that most married people who cheat were actually very happy in their own marriages at the time they cheated. I feel like these acts go along with the fact that people can have the best of the best but the grass always looks greener on the other side.
    This article still concludes what people still agree on what’s been said for years “Honesty’s the best policy”. Although there are sometimes new policies in relationships this has always remained true. I have to agree with this if there is no honesty there is nothing. After you’re caught in a lie the trust is gone and so is the happiness. Open communication is the key to keeping a good relationship.
    Having friends has always been important to us so we can’t just completely change who we are. We should also still get out there and make new friends. Never lose sight of who you are and your dreams and hopes for your partner’s dreams and hopes. Always keep your options open, you never know when oppertunities will come along.

    The second article I read was about “Sex Swingers”. This article had alot to do with flexibility towards sexual activity and the pros/cons. The article told me about how monogomas people often get into toxic relationships and paterns. These ralationships usually lead to affairs.
    The values of sex were completely different from the swingers to the monogomas. It was said that the swingers are emotionally connected and affectionet with their partners but their values are different. While monogomas people have lost hope in setteling down and getting married.

  6. The two articles that I chose were “Your Memory is Like a Game of Telephone” and “How to Detect Deceit: A Model From Former CIA Officers.”

    The first article I do agree with. Memories do get mixed up and lose detail. Certain memories have to stand out to remember and even that memory can lose some detail to it. That is why It seems that it is better to constantly study something to remember, rather than try to remember it at that moment. Our brain is like the game telephone because it is so much to remember that we end up forgetting some things.

    The second article that I read about I do not agree with. I don’t believe that you can determine if someone is lying by the look they give in five seconds. I say this because anybody can be an actor and make the examiner think different. If anything i think that the polygraph is the closest thing you can get to seeing if someone is telling the truth or not.

  7. The two articles that caught my eye were “Your Memory is Like a Game of Telephone” and “Social Aggression Plagues most kid shows”,

    I totally agree that your memory can lose detail when it comes down to remembering something. In my opinion the only part of your memory that stands out is when it involves something of value to you. Like if you know you have a very important test coming up and you know you have to study. Don’t wait to the last minute to study it is best to study before hand less stress on your brain.

    I would of never thought that social aggression would play a huge part on kids and watching children shows. I found that very interesting, also how certain shows may not cause a child to have aggression physically but can cause the child to say things that are offensive to others.

  8. The two articles I read were “What’s Wrong With Infidelity?” and “Swingers: Mentally Healthier Than Monogamous Peers”.

    After reading the article about infidelity, I found it interesting and thought more about why couples cheat. They should be talking things through with their partner, but instead they go behind their back to cheat. Couples do not communicate and are not honest with each other in a relationship and this leads to problems. Because most couples need to be honest with each other instead of not talking anything out with them. It causes the couple to grow farther apart and maybe closer to someone else. If one wants a healthy relationship, they must be honest, have freedom, and be themselves.

    I thought the swingers article was interesting and it made a lot of sense to me. It was interesting to find out that most people who cheated on their partner said they would not participate in a “swinger” relationship. Yet, they would keep two people around at the same time for sexual satisfaction. It would make sense that swingers have healthier relationships because it is based on trust with their partners. Everyone has different needs and feelings. It was perplexing how couples would rather be deceitful instead of honest with their partner. That only causes more problems in the relationship and people end up getting hurt. Whereas swingers do not have that sense of jealousy and trust their partners. However, the author did mention that everyone has different lifestyles and swinging is not for everyone.

  9. The two articles that I chose to read were, “Your Memory Is Like A Game of Telephone, and “‘Social Aggression’ Plagues Most Kid Shows”.

    I found the article pertaining to memory especially interesting due to the breakdown of a complex system. I had always believed that memory was a complex system that was composed of multiple scientific parts,however, it is a rather simple. Also, I was surprised that the more you remember is causing you to forget. I had always thought that recalling a memory would make it stronger. The article as a whole was rather helpful; it has changed my ways of studying.

    The article that addressed social aggression was both amusing and confusing. I was amused to read about how many children’s cartoons were becoming increasingly more violent. However, I was confused as to why parents were taking this issue so seriously. To take away television from children to “protect them”, would cause them to be unaware of what is happening in the real world. The overall article took an issue that was “childish”, and created a larger scaled problem.

  10. The two articles i read were “Your Memory Is Like A Game of Telephone”
    as well as “How to detect a deceit.”

    These articles this week really got me thinking about stuff. Your memory is like a game of telephone was good because I honestly didnt realize when i hear something once i dont remember it but when i hear it more then once that i start repeating it like facts that people say or songs or movie lines.

    The second article How to detect a deceit was really good and i had to laugh a bit since any time my parents call my name I automaticly yell back I DIDNT DO IT! Also I thought it was interesting that the article says not to believe the truth because they liar will try to throw you off with the truth.

    I like both articles.

  11. The two articles I read this week were “Your Memory is Like a Game of Telephone” and “Overhaul Your Psychology Study Habits With These Tips”

    The article about the memory really caught my eye because I have a terrible memory. My parents will tell me about vacations I have been on and I don’t remember them at all. Reading the last paragraph about how maybe you should be questioning everything you ever remembered. It made me think about the things I actually do remember and if they are even 100% true. It was very interesting to me that the first time you try to reiterate what you remember is probably more wrong then if you were to do it a couple times after that. I really enjoyed this article because of my horrible memory.

    This article actually really helped me with study habits. I agree that a change of scenery can you help you focus more. When i have to study for tests or do my homework I feel like its almost impossible to do in my dorm room so I would rather go outside or to the library. Also it says not to cram all your studying into one which is exactly what you told us in class to help prepare for our test. I found this article very helpful and I do plan on using the methods of studying it describes.

  12. The article I read was “Study Habits” I found that they have pretty good tips and I will try them for my next exam… I have found for myself that hourly segments work best but you must do them repeticously.

  13. The first article I read was, “Your Memory is Like a Game of Telephone”. I agree that the more you hear something, the better chance you have of remembering it. Very few people can recall an exact statement or fact after hearing it only once. It takes repetition to gain a full understanding of what is being told to you. Even then, when you are asked to recall the statement of event, bits and pieces are left out.

    The second article I read was, “How to Detect Deceit”. I found that it was interesting how they have these little tricks to detect if someone is lying. It was surprising to see that most of the time they determine if someone is lying by how they look, not what they say. This is a great article to make sure you are able to figure out who is and who is not lying to you.

  14. I read “Your Memory is Like a Game of Telephone” and “How to detect a deceit”

    In “Your Memory is Like a Game of Telephone”, it told us how everything we remember gets changed because out mind isnt like a photograph. I can see how this happens because every time someone recalls a story, it differs from person to person. One person will give a different account of the same story than another person would. Even though they went through the same event, our mind leaves out or adds pieces to the story. Repetition is the only way to make sure you remember everything. Thats why we have to study over and over again to remember material for a test.

    In “How to Detect a Deceit”, I thought it was interested how the CIA has many methods that they can tell who is lying or not. Most of the detection of lies is based on appearance, not words. Some of the tactics they said to help detect a liar was very vague. Just because someone said “I Didnt Do It” doesnt mean they are lying. Some people are very nervous to begin with, it doesnt mean they are lying. This article was very interesting and i cant wait to use these tactics to see which one of my friends are lying.

  15. The first article I read was “Your Memory is Like a Game of Telephone.” I think its true that we mix up details and our memory gets distorted over time. I think the longer we take to recall something that happened, the more we can’t recall it right. We take things and twist them around because we think were remembering it correctly. I think that’s why we have to keep recalling things. Like when we have to study for a test, we have to keep going over things because our memory will not know the difference of the regular memory.

    The second article I read was “What’s Wrong With Infidelity.” I agree with monogamy. I don’t think people should be with more than one person if they’re married or in a relationship where they say they’re only with that person. Infidelity is a wrong thing to do in my opinion because your saying things like you won’t ever do anything to hurt that person and then you end up cheating on them. It one of those things that are inhumane to me. I don’t think you should do it.

  16. The first article that I read was “Whats wrong with Infidelity?” and the second article I read was “Swingers: Mentally Healthier Than Monogamous Peers”. The infidelity article wasn’t much surprising to me. People cheat all the time. most of the time people don’t even have a real reason to cheat. I do find it funny that “unfaithful individuals are less likely to practice safer sex than openly nonmonogamous individuals.” I would think that the unfaithful people would be more careful about using protection. I enjoyed the swingers article HAHAHAHAHAHAH. Its so funny how swingers are just more happier and then people in monogamous relationships are usually more up tight about certain things

  17. The two articles I read were “whats wrong with infidelity” and “social aggression plagues most kids shows”.

    The first article “whats wrong with infidelity” was very interesting. It was kind of eye opening, to find out some of these staggering percentages of relationships that were unfaithful. Its crazy how much much every thing has changed over the past few years, and how many more relationships have become unfaithful, due to lies, deciet, and cheating. It was no surprise to me, expecially this day and age.

    The second article I read was “Social aggression plagues most kids shows”. This was no surprise to me. Some of the so called children shows these days are completely innapropriate with all the violence and profanity. I agree with parents protecting there children from these kinds of shows strictly because you do see many of the childrens behavior influenced by what they see on the television.


Categories

