Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | September 21, 2012

Friday Five – September 21, 2012

The semester is officially underway. We’re 2.5 weeks in. I’m giving my first exam this afternoon and more next week. It’s also beginning to truly feel like fall around here. A few leaves are already changing colors around here. More were already changing last weekend as I drove through the Berkshires on my way to visit friends out in Albany, NY. I had to break out the sweats the other night to walk the dogs before bed, and I even have done a few runs in long sleeve shirts. While I enjoy fall weather, I’m not really a fan of the shorter days. Pretty soon, I’ll be walking to my car in the dark after work.

I had a fairly easy time picking out five links this week. This may have been due to the short time frame I gave myself before my first class this morning. I didn’t give myself much time to dwell on specific posts – just went for what grabbed me.

RH Reality Check (Martha Kempner) – September 18, 2012

As a sex educator, I strongly believe people should be empowered with accurate information about sexuality. However, not everyone agrees with me. As a result, I am continually amazed at the misinformation my students share with me. I’m scared to think that many believe this information to be accurate. Martha Kempner agrees with me. In her column she shares some the misinformation her students gained from the State of New York’s Sex Ed Curricula. I’m not the only one who found this link of interest – this link was also talked about in today’s My Sex Professor column.

Medical News Today – September 21, 2012

In light of my comment regarding students’ misinformation about sexuality, I found this particular link of interest. It is also relevant to comments I have made in several classes in the beginning of the semester about needing to think critically. This brief summary by MNT describes research by Stephan Lewandowsky and colleagues on what makes some misinformation so “sticky”. Basically, it boils down to cognitive effort. It takes effort to reject a message, and some information sticks because it fits our expectations. Thankfully, Lewandowsky and colleagues provide some suggestions about how to correct misinformation.

Psychology Today: Making Humans (Gwen Dewar) – September 13, 2012

How could I pass up a link that talks about the classic “and 1 gorilla” study. I still love that the video discussed worked on my husband at a convention some years ago. (I didn’t fall for it, because I was aware of the gorilla.) Basically, as the research discussed in this link points out, humans were not meant to multitask. It also talks about a variety of “tricks” in regards to how the human mind works.

Medical News Today – September 21, 2012

This brief summary from MNT describes a study recently published in Cyberpsychology, Behavior, and Social Networking regarding individuals continuing to interact with an ex-partner on Facebook or engaging in Facebook surveillance – where they don’t actually interact but just watch the ex-partner on Facebook. The study found that those individuals who continued to follow their ex-partners did not recover very well.

Medical News Today – September 21, 2012

I was drawn to this link for two reasons: 1) it has to do with chocolate, and 2) I was starting to talk about neurotransmitters in my PSY101 class this morning. So, I already provided a teaser for this link in this morning’s lecture. The link describes research that shows an activation in neurotransmitters from gorging on chocolate and other sweet foods. Of course, this was demonstrated in rats, so more research would be needed to determine if the same is true in humans.

 

 

Responses

  1. I read the article “Why information sticks and how to fix it” Inaccurate information does tend to stick more than accurate information.. Take the media for example, all they need to do is go on t.v. or radio and say one thing and everyone goes along with it. the negative information tend to stick more than the positive information. For example, someone posted on Facebook that Morgan Freeman had died and within no time there were thousand of comments stating “R.I.P” and how he would be missed… Had it not been for a statement from his PR stating that it was a internet hoax everyone would still beleive it. Its all just gossip if you ask me.

  2. The two articles that I chose to read were “Vagina’s are Sperm Depositories and other Scary Things About the State of New York’s Sex Ed Curricula” and “Why Misinformation sticks and how to fix it.”

    I thought that the “Vagina’s are Sperm Depositories” article was very offensive and totally disrespectful, how could someone say that about a female. Women are beautiful creatures and gave birth to all of us. I am a male and I would go crazy if someone disrespected my mother or sisters. I am grateful to have women on this earth men would have not been here if it wasn’t for women. Also I do agree that schools should have more classes involving sex education and HIV and AIDS classes because that is a serious matter. Many young men and women die or are effected with HIV and AIDS and may or may not know it.

    The second article I thought that was very interesting and true is “why Misinformation sticks and how to fix it”. False Information is more likely to stick than information that is true, because false information is much more interesting. It wouldn’t be interesting if all information was true because that would take out all the fun to find out either it is true or not. All in all I think the use of misinformation is nothing but gossip to get other hyped up on that situation that is not true than something that is.

  3. The two articles that I decided to read were “Is High-tech Multitasking Making Us Dangerously Stupid” and ” Why Misinformation Sticks And How To Fix It”.

    From what I read in the first article I can conclude that we all believe that we have the ability to multitask, and can multitask well. It may seem that way but whenever we are multitasking the quality of whatever things we are doing at the time lowers. I notice this in myself when I attempt to multitask. For example when I do homework in my room, I either have the TV on or play music. I still get my work done, but its not the same quality if I had done it with the TV/music off. This isnt that dangerous and wouldn’t have extreme consequences, but sometimes we do things that are very risky. Like texting and driving.

    The second article interesting. It said the reason why false information “sticks” more is because it requires a great amount of cognative effort. Trying to see if the info is realiable or not is more difficult than just accepting the false information. We are willing to investigate only if the info is intresting to us or has some effect on us. Whenever I here somthing on the news or radio, I usually read up on it from a couple of different sources, then make my judgement.

  4. I read Why Misinformation Sticks and How to Fix It and Is High-tech Multitasking Making Us Dangerously Stupid.

    Why Misinformation Sticks and How to Fix It explained that false info seems to be more believed than true info. People rather make stuff up to get more publicity because others want to hear it then actually report the correct info and not get that much publicity. The news does this all the time, especially when it is an election year when they make up lies about the candidates just so it sparks controversy.

    Is High-tech Multitasking Making Us Dangerously Stupid made me realize that multitasking isn’t the smartest thing to do. Even as I sit on my computer right now and do my homework while surfing the web and watching tv, i already know it will end up biting me in the butt when i need to remember what I learned from the homework. We may think that we multitask well, but we dont. We may complete tasks quicker when we multitask but we are not learning anything while we multitask. This article will now make me study in peace so that i remember the material better come test time.

  5. The two articles that I chose to read were, “Chocolate Gorging Linked to Opium Chemical in Brain” and Emotional Recovery May Be Delayed By Post-Breakup Facebook Surveillance.

    After reading the article pertaining to chocolate gorging, I was both intrigued and scared. I never knew that consumption of chocolate as a reward would trigger opiate like chemicals. These findings are somewhat scary due to the fact that I myself am guilty of eating too much chocolates or sweets. These findings also help further research in other addictive properties such as sugar or other unhealthy substances. I believe that people should be required to be aware of what a simple sweet will do to the brain. I am no way equating drugs to chocolate or sweets, but I may have to in the near future.

    The article about emotional recovery and Facebook was very interesting. After reading it, I realized I myself was guilty of looking into past relationships. If the action of simply witnessing an ex is emotionally traumatizing, being able to check up on an ex on a daily or hourly basis is emotionally impairing. If one continues to be infatuated with an ex’s life, it will make it nearly impossible to move on from a past relationship. The sad part about this topic is that it is almost impossible to stop due to the growing addiction to social media and technology.

  6. The two articles that I read were “Why Misinformation Sticks and How to Fix It” and “Emotional Recovery May Be Delayed By Post-Breakup Facebook Surveillance.”

    I agree with the first article that I read. People that read incorrect information usually go with that information instead of finding out more about it. Majority of people don’t put the time and effort to find out about the info that’s true and just stick with the false info and believe that it’s true.

    I thought the emotional recovery article was an interesting read. Whe someone checks on their ex-partner’s life, they are making it more difficult for them to move on with their lives.

  7. The two articles I decided to read were “Emotional Recovery May Be Post-Breakup Facebook Surveillance” and “Why Misinformation Sticks and How to Fix It”

    In the first article “Emotional Recovery May Be Post-Breakup Facebook Surveillance”, I thought it was very interesting. I myself do have ex-boyfriends as friends on Facebook. Being friends with them hasn’t affected any current relationships, and I moved on perfectly fine from the previous relationship. Yes I occasionally look at their page from time to time, but I don’t catch feelings from it. Everything happened for a reason.

    With the second article I find it pretty ridiculous how quick people are to believe false information. I don’t believe anything unless it’s coming from the person it’s about or that is involved. In other cases false information usually starts problems between others. For example, if you hear from someone that one of your friends are talking trash about you, most likely you’ll listen and confront your friend without being civil and asking questions. This article was very interesting to me.

  8. The first article I read was “Why Misinformation Sticks and How to Fix it.” Most of the time we do keep misinformation in our head because the way people give the information out makes it want to stick. Perez Hilton, a popular gossiper in the media says misinformation with enthusiasm and makes it sound interesting. That’s one reason why we listen to it because he grabs our attention. Unlike facts in school where the teacher says it and we’re in a whole different planet thinking about what the radio said about Rihanna today. Facts that are about history or science goes in one ear and out the other for some people. We like misinformation more because we like to share it with other people and nobody wants to share a boring fact. We really don’t know when we’re recieving misinformation or not so only the interesting sticks.

    The second article I read was “Is High-Tech Multitasking Making us Dangerously Stupid.” I agree that multitasking is not the best thing to do but humans tend to think we can do it all under any circumstances. I don’t agree that it makes us dangerously stupid. We can miss things because of it but it doesn’t mean we’re stupid. I think we start to forget about the things around us and only focus on those tasks. The only problem with multitasking is the recall. For example, if we were doing a math problem and watching the television at the same time and we got the answer right, we would probably forget how we got the answer. This is a bad thing because if the teacher asked where the answer came from and we didn’t know how we got there, we would probably get accused for cheating. I think there needs to be a wake-up call. People need to stop thinking they can always multitask. Such as, talking on the phone and driving or texting and listening to the teacher at the same time. In all reality it doesn’t work because you are paying attention to your phone call rather than the road and your are paying attention to your conversation rather than what the teacher is saying. I don’t think multitasking makes us incredibly dumb but I do think we need to try to stop doing it.

  9. The two articles I read were “Vaginas Are Sperm Depositories and Other Scary Things About the State of New York’s Sex Ed Curricula” and “Emotional Recovery May Be Delayed By Post-Breakup Facebook Surveillance”.

    In the first article, I was very shocked to find out how schools were distributing informationa about HIV/AIDS that was outdated. This is dangerous because it misinforms students about how to prevent HIV and leaves them with no knowledge of the disease. Also, it interested me how the author mentioned the “virgin/slut” label because so many girls are judged based on their virginity. She mentioned how some people perceive others who are not virgins to be lacking morals and lack character, which is untrue because it shouldn’t be based off of whether she is a virgin or not. That is her choice.

    The second article I read had to do with watching the activity of your ex partners on facebook. It mentioned that if you still see what your ex partners are up to and keep watch on their profiles, it makes it harder for someone to get over their ex. I find that to be true because you need to have closure if you don’t want someone in your life anymore. Seeing what they’re doing on facebook isn’t going to give someone closure, it’s going to make someone sad and remember that they are no longer with that person. They’re watching that person live life and move on without them. If they want them out of their lives, they need to delete them. My friends have dealt with this before and are happier after deleting them so they can move on. But everyone is different, some may feel the opposite about their ex and remain friends with them.

  10. The two articles I read this were Emotional Recovery May Be Delayed By Post-Breakup Facebook Surveillance and Chocolate Gorging Linked To Opium Chemical In Brain.

    I really found that being Facebook friends with an ex lover can delay emotional recovery. I myself am friends with my ex boyfriend on facebook and once we broke up i found myself looking at his page a lot more. It took me the whole summer to finally move on from him and seeing other girls post on his wall and seeing pictures of him enjoying himself and having fun really bothered me. I would find myself getting angry and upset and jealous that for him it was easier to move on. I definitely think that being Facebook friends prolonged my recovery, so i definitely agree with everything this article is saying. I think that people torture themselves looking at what their exes are doing and its not healthy to do at all.

    I was interested in the chocolate article mainly because its my favorite food. I love chocolate and I have ever since I was younger. I found it interesting that using chocolate as a reward would trigger opiate like chemicals. I thought the study with rats and how they ate double the amount of M&M’s then they normally was so interesting.

  11. The two articles that I chose were Is “High-Tech Multitasking Making Us Dangerously Stupid?” and “Emotional Recovery May Be Delayed By Post-Breakup Facebook Surveillance.”

    The first article that I read was about the multitasking making us stupid. I do not think it makes us stupid, it makes us less capable to concentrate more. Other than that I do agree with the article completely. The reason I say this is because I seen the video with the ape beating on its chest. I was so focused on counting the passes that I did not notice until my high school teacher told the class about it. Multitasking is something everybody can not do sometime. That is why they made the law where you can not drive and be on the phone at the same time. Reason being because a few people were killed due to trying to multitasking with their phones.

    The second article that I read was “Emotional Recovery May Be Delayed By Post-Breakup Facebook Surveillance.” I also agree with this article because i personally checked a few of my former girls Facebook pages. Only to see their recent pictures and what they were up to. Social networks do mess up some relationships because of each partner being suspicious when they like somebodies photo or post.

  12. “Chocolate Gorging”
    Who would ever think that drug addictions could be linked to Chocolate addictions? Recent studies have shown that there is actually a strong bond between chocolate and opiums. Researched recently ran a test on rats. They had fed them chocolate and then gave them a drug to see the similarities. What they found was that the drug they used went straight to the “neostriatum” part of the brain. In their study they noticed that the rats ate twice as much sweet chocolate as they normally would. “Enkephalin” is the drug like substance they used to run this test, the rats showed that when they ate the chocolate on this drug the “neostriatum” showed a wave of excitement. That right there linked the relation for chocolate to opiums. This reaction is also similar in the obese population when they see something tasty to eat.. Not only that but also when drug addicts see drugs and drug paraphernalia.But these links also agree about the bottom line of urges. Just like drugs, alcohol, chocolate and nicotine. You may crave for it like crazy but that doesn’t always mean you like it. The mind plays tricks upon us, we often need it further more than liking the taste or effects from these. This article in some ways can prove to us that addictions can happen with pretty much anything.

    “Why misinformation sticks and how to change it”
    This article made me think about high schools and all the and all the drama and rumors, it also reminded me of the game “telephone”. There are many ways to prevent this but some of the information is slightly true. It’s very easy to believe something you just hear from someone instead of doing investigation on seeing if it’s fact or fiction but often we are too lazy to perform these acts. Especially when you have other things on your mind, your brain will automatically believe the things your hearing, instead of weighing out the possibilities on if this is true of not. This article also talks about how people can be bias about the information they’re receiving. If the information doesn’t sit well with us then we are most likely going to cancle it out and find a new solution or look up the facts and statistics about the topic. However, misinformation may be hard to seek the right answer but if we don’t we could be making some arrogant decisions based on these so called “facts”.

  13. “Why misinformation sticks and how to change it”
    This article was very interesting but i think people keep information in their head depending on the type of person it is coming from. If your bestfriend told you a story compared to a person you just met, your going to listen to your bestfriend because thats the one you trust. This article caught my eye.

    “Emotional Recovery May Be Post-Breakup Facebook Surveillance”
    I believe alot of people that use to be in a relationaship do check their ex girlfriend or boyfriend pages, but that doesnt mean that person still has feelings for them. Just want to know how that person is doing.

  14. The two articles that I chose to read were “Vagina’s are Sperm Depositories and other Scary Things About the State of New York’s Sex Ed Curricula” and “Why Misinformation sticks and how to fix it.”

    I think the vagina article was hilaious, im not surprised of the lack of education that some students recieve in the public school systems. Alot of districts are afraid to talk about sex with students because its always a controversial topic. The way those students are being taught is so misleading and wrong. The other article that I read was interesting to me. Even though im not surprised by what i read. To me it just seems that humans are too lazy to change the wrong thought in their head so they continue to think the wrong thing.

  15. I read the reading “is-high-tech-multitasking-making-us-dangerously-stupid”.And this makes perfect sense.It is almost impossible for a human being to focus completely on 2 things. And with technology only getting better, students or only going yo be more distracted.

  16. The two articles I ready were “Vaginas are Sperm Depositories and other Scary things Aout the State of New Yorks Sex Ed Curicula” And “Why Misinformation Sticks and How to Fix it”.

    The first article “Vaginas are Sperm Depositories and other Scary things Aout the State of New Yorks Sex Ed Curicula” was very shocking. After reading this article I was almost in shock. I came to the realization that not many people are sexually educated, and thats a big problem. It just goes to show how important it is to raise awarness on how to prevent prenancy and HIV.

    The second article I read was “Why Misinformation Sticks and How to Fix it”. After reading this article I totally agreed with the information. When hearing information that is incorrect its more likly to stick because you need to make a cognitive effort to try to reject that effort. A few ways to correctly learn true information rather than false information is “learn through repetition” and to
    keep the information simple and brief.

  17. i read the articles about emotional recovery and the chocolate gorging.

    Both articles are very interesting the first one was funny since i know girls that would dump a guy and then stalk him on facebook and its true they talk about how they miss him and down talk the new girlfriend. The fact that a chemical in your brain can trigger you to eat alot or twice as much chocolate then you normally would makes you wonder if that happends to you when you have eatten alot of chocolate. Both were very imformative.

  18. I read “Vaginas Are Sperm Depositories And Other Scary Things About the State of New York’s Sex Ed Curricula” and “Emotional Recovery May Be Delayed By Post-Breakup Facebook Surviellance.”

    The first articule I thought was very interesting. I do agree that programs do make you feel like your less worthy if you had sex already. Many surveys about sex education do not hit the topic of gay or lesbian people. I also agree that schools don’t talk much about same-sex marriages just for the simple fact that many kids are born into family consisting of a father and a mother.

    The second article I thought represents a lot of teens today. Social networks such as Facebook can ruin your life especially after a breakup becuase you’re always going to hear about them.Seeing pictures of them, and looking at their posts, will make you feel like you never broke up with them. Some people are just as crazy to check their ex’s profile all the time to check what their doing.

  19. The first aritcle that I read was “Is high tech multitasking making us dangerously stupid”. I agree with this arrticle it is true with me when I am doing homework on my laptop and I get a message on my phone I always check it always makes me want to tweet and facebook. Which makes me not able to focus on what has to get done.

    The second article that I read was “Vaginas are sperm depositories and other scary things about the state of New York’s sex ed curricula”. I feel like this article was very intresting. Many surveys only talk about the straight couples and not the gays or lesbians. Schools also dont focus on the gays or lesbians when they are talking about sexual education. I feel like schools should focus on the gays and lesbians because they also have sexual intercourses.


Categories

