Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | September 14, 2012

Friday Five – September 14, 2012

Every fall, I always forget how busy the start of the school year is. This week has been very busy between classes, meetings, and research. Going to see Jukebox the Ghost on Wednesday night didn’t help ease the busy feeling, but it was a fun concert.

I thought I would have a challenge picking out five links for this week – I retweeted so many interesting things since last week’s post. However, as I browsed the links, a clear set stood out. There’s some variety and common themes amongst this set. I’ve covered options for both my Intro Psych and Human Sexuality classes, as well as others of interest to me.

(Note to Students: If you want your responses to be counted for course credit, you have to come back to this post and comment. If you leave a comment on the page I have linked to, I have no way of knowing you have commented or tracking your comments.)

Psychology Today: Shrink (Sherry Pagoto, Ph.D.) – September 10, 2012

This another example of sharing a link because, perhaps, I should follow the advice. I will acknowledge that I have come a LONG way from the amount of sugar that fueled my undergraduate and graduate studies. For reference, I would frequently consume a 6-pack of Coke and a small bag of chocolate Riesen in a marathon reading/writing session. However, I could probably still cut back on my sugar consumption and decrease my sugar binges at grading/finals time.

Psychology Today: Unique – Like Everybody Else (Scott McGreal) – September 12, 2012

This recent post is not the first time I heard of this claim. I actually know the authors of the original study. Gordon Gallup was  a faculty member in the Psychology Department at the University of Albany while I was working on my Ph.D. Rebecca Burch entered and graduated from the Doctoral Program at the same time. I believe Steven Platek was a year or so behind me in the Ph.D. program, but I know we had at least one class together and I’m sure he served as a proctor for me during my years as an instructor. More recently than graduate school, I was reminded of the Gallup et al. (2002) study this summer while reading Jesse Bering’s book Why Is the Penis Shaped Like That?

However, I chose this particular link because it helps demonstrate something I’ve been covering in several of my classes this week: Why One Should Know About Research Methodology. Besides helping students develop critical thinking skills, knowing about research methodology helps students be better consumers of the research out there. As McGreal points out, sometimes what is presented in the media, isn’t really supported by the research.

The Guardian: Comment is Free (Chris Chambers & Petroc Sumner) – September 14, 2012

If you followed my blog at all last spring (or read past posts), you’ll know that instances of fraud in scientific work have seemed to explode in the past year. For a post of some of the cases within psychology, read this post over at Statistical Modeling, Causal Inference, and Social Science. It was around this time last year that I became aware that the work of Deiderik Stapel was brought under question.

As this column by Chambers and Sumner suggests, a possible issue is the pressure for researchers within the academic culture to publish or perish.

Students, you shouldn’t take the information in this link as reason to discard ALL research you read about. However, you should think for yourselves. Pull on that information you’ve learned in your psychology courses about critical thinking and research methodology. This is crucial information for helping you weed the good information from the less good information out there.

Psychology Today: Brain Wise (Susan Weinschenk, Ph.D) – September 11, 2012

I think the post speaks for itself, once you read through it.

Intro Students, keep this post in mind when we start Chapter 2 and start talking about neurotransmitters. We’ll also talk about some of the learning theory stuff down the road this semester.

Scientific American (Helen Lee Lin) – September 4, 2012

So, you may have brushed off the previous link thinking that addiction to our phones is fairly harmless. Maybe you begrudgingly accepted that it hurts your productivity. Did you stop and think about the impact it may have on your relationships – friendships and romantic relationships?

What I find most interesting about the study described in the link is that the cell phone in question didn’t even belong to the participants, and yet it still influenced people’s feelings of connectedness. Here’s a link to the abstract from the original study. (Students, you can get access to this article through the Library databases. Ask a Librarian if you need assistance.)

 

Responses

  1. The “How Your Cell Phone Hurts Your Relationships” was fascinating. Just having the device nearby has a measurable effect? It’s too late now, but I would have been interested to know what the effect was like prior to the introduction of the iPhone, then within a year or two.

    • The two articles i read were “How Your Cell Phone Hurts Your Relationships” and “How To Get Over Your Sugar Addiction.” I could really relate to the article “How Your Cell Phone Hurts Your Relationships” because I always am texting or talking on the phone. This sounds pathetic really, but my cell phone is like my bible. It really used to annoy my boyfriend when i was texting all the time while we were together.He used to get so jealous and annoyed at me. Even if I wasn’t texting someone. The other article was”How To Get Over Your Sugar Addiction.” Now I’m not so sure if there is actually such thing as a “sugar addiction”, but if there is it must be a tough thing. Unlike cigarette or drugs sugar is something your body naturally runs on. To say someone is addicted to it makes me ponder at the possibilities of other things someone could be addicted to. I was amazed that there are actually steps to help you get over your addiction.

  2. The two articles I read were “How to Get Over Your Sugar Addiction” and “How Your Cell Phone Hurts Your Relationships.” The article about sugar addiction caught my eye because I know a lot of people with this addiction and they can’t stop it because they’re not educated on how to. I agree that taking small steps to reduce sugar would help someone stop being addicted. It’s like trying to lose weight. You can’t just work out one day and automatically assume that all your weight is going to be off. You have to take small steps to lose the weight. You can’t just go in the gym for the first time in a long time and do 8 miles on the tredmill. You have to take it slow and be dedicated. Its the same thing with trying to help a sugar addiction. Small steps are better than trying to change something in one day.

    I agree that cell phones can hurt some relationships but not all. If people have a bestfriend and they’re texting while they’re with them I honestly don’t think anything would be affected. Most likely, well with teenagers, you will tell your bestfriend who your texting and probably tell them the whole conversation. So nothing is really being ruined there. I think with a boyfriend/girlfriend it could probably be a problem because when your with them they want you all to themselves. They think that it should be bonding time. It could get ruined but it depends on how they feel about you texting when your with them. It could also ruin family relationships because families are the ones who are mostly about bonding time and being away from your phones in that time. You can get scolded for being on your phone during family night or family dinner.

  3. The first document i read was “How your cell phone hurts your relationship”. The study done in this document was very interesting, you don’t think of a cell phone as interrupting a social experience unless a participant is actually using the said device. This concept is astonishing, most people have a cell phone on them at ALL times, therefore socializing is never able to be natural. It would be interesting to know what a completely natural social encounter would even feel like as apposed to one with a cell phone present. This is an interesting concept and i would love to watch the encounters done in the tests and watch the differences first hand.

    The second document i read was ” Why we’re all addicted to texts, twitter, and google”. when you see a friend or person constantly checking there phones over and over again whenever you with them you never stop to think why they are doing it. This study showed the reason why people become glued to their phone and i found it very interesting. People don’t just check their phones because they like to, they check them because the brain needs them to for the opioid system to get pleasure. This is fascinating, and id like to see a study done where nobody receives notifications of texts or emails and see how often people check their phones.

  4. I decided to read the articles “How To Get Over Your Sugar Addiction” and “How Your Cell Phone Hurts Your Relationships”.

    I felt that the first article “How To Get Over Your Sugar Addiction” was very interesting. I say that because I, myself can admit that I have a bit of a sweet tooth. It’s more serious of an issue for those that can’t last a day without their sugar fix. Some of the different methods of cutting down on sugary foods could result in a positive outcome. I wouldn’t mind considering one of the methods to help the minor addiction I have.

    I could relate to the second article “How Cell Phones Hurt Your Relationships” a lot more than the first article. Cell phones take away the feeling of being the center of attention whether it’s while hanging out with friends or a boyfriend/girlfriend. They sometimes cause trust issues because you don’t always know exactly who is on the other end of the conversation. Another thing is it’s also rude when you’re in the middle of a conversation, and the other person you are with whips out their phone and completely ignores you.

    Both articles were interesting to me, and I would absolutely recommend them to friends and family members that are going through similar issues.

  5. I read the articles “How to Get Over Your Sugar Addiction” and “Why We’re All Addicred to Texts, Twitter and Google”.

    In the first article I agree with that most of us have been conditioned to have a craving for sweet foods. As children eating candies and desserts was nothing out of the ordinary. I think it is possible to lose that need for sugar, in a slow process like with any other addiction. Limiting the amount of sugar you consume each day will be easier than just stopping cold turkey. The craving will slowly diminish. Reading the nutrition labels on the back would as help you know what food companies are putting in their products.

    The second article I read was very interesting. The reason the said why people constantly check their email and other messages was interesting. Dopamine in our brains somewhat cause this behavior. I constantly check my phone for notifications, its really hard not to check. Like they said in the article we want more, and more, and more its so addicting.

  6. The post about “How your cell phone hurts your relationships” is truly something to take into consideration. Honestly I truly agree with this post. The problem now a days with my generation is; we use our cell phones for everything! What ever happen to communicating face to face with each other? A text message cannot show our emotions or show the other person on the other end of the phone how we feel. Arguments seems to be text messages now and I am a witness to that statement. These cell phones have become our life lines and the fact of the matter is that is really sad because there is more to life than just being on my cell phone 24/7. Number 1. It is not healthy, Number 2 it causes us to lose interest in our surroundings and the people that we love. It is okay to have a cell phone no doubt, but when it becomes your life; that it has to be in your hand every second of the night or night that is something to look into.

  7. This week i read “How To Get Over Your Sugar Addiction” and “Why We’re All Addicted to Texts, Twitter and Google”

    I was really interested in how to get over your sugar addiction because sugar is in a lot of foods! I agree that how much sugar you eat is dependent on how your household foods are. One of my old friends used to eat starburst and skittles for breakfast because her mom hated cooking. She ended up getting diabetes so she had no choice but to watch what she ate. I found it interesting that if you cut back on the amount of sugar intake you get used to it after a while. It only takes about 3 weeks to change how much sugar you enjoy eating. I think people are unaware that they can change their eating habits quickly so thats why they don’t change them. If people were more educated about this then i don’t think they would have a problem changing.

    The second article I read was my favorite. I am definitely a little bit addicted to my phone and I am constantly checking it for new updates on twitter and instagram and my texts. It’s sometimes even a struggle for me to not look at it when I’m in class. I definitely am going to try to turn off my cues. I am going to change my settings so I don’t get notifications and I’m not tempted to check. I love my phone but it distracts me from a lot. I also found interesting that Dopamine is the cause for this. Its interesting that its all because we have a curious behavior. I really enjoyed this article!

  8. There article I choose was “why we’re all addicted to text, twitter, and google”. This is because of, “Dopamine”, this has to do with the brain and how people think, seek, and function.So whenever something of interest comes along, it’s very easy to be distracted, and become addicted.This part in the brain is what attracts us to certain thing and allows us to do certain things.

    • I find this article very interesting because of the simple fact that without dopamine, we could have something that would normally attract us in our face and not respond to it

  9. The two articles I found interesting were “We’re All Addicted To Texting, Twitter, and Google” and “How Your Cell Phone Hurts Your Relationships.”

    The first article, “We’re All Addicted To Texting, Twitter, and Google” was an interesting article to read. The study that was done for this article was very relating. I say that because I too have an addiction to Twitter and texting. I also know a majority of people that probably have the addicitionn worse than I do. They constantly have to check Twitter, or text 24/7. For example, there are some people that have the habit of being on Twitter on the computer, signing off, then go on their phone and sign back on to Twitter. That’s why I found this article to be the most interesting to read.

    The secong article that I read, “How Your Cell Phone Hurts Your Relationships” was also an interesting read. I find this true because I feel like almost any type of electronical device such as cell phones and computers, can cause distance between people. People can’t do or say things personally to each other because they’re too busy doing or sending it on their cell phones which causes the distance between people. The relationship ends up getting destroyed because people involved in it didn’t put enough effort to save it.

  10. The articles I chose to read were, “How to get over your sugar addiction” and “Why we’re all addicted to texts, twitter, and google”.

    I chose to read the article pertaining to sugar addiction because I myself am an addict. For years I have been addicted to sugar. I often drink multiple coffees or sodas a day. The article gave some useful tips on how to handle my addiction. I have attempted to stop before, however my will power is not strong enough. Also, I have tried to go “cold turkey” on the addiction, which backfired causing headaches. I hope to use these new ideas and tips to help beat my addiction.

    After reading the article pertaining to technology, I was both amused and confused. I can relate to the article because I myself have a phone, twitter, and I often use google. I was surprised that this addiction to technology was actually scientific. I had no idea that my body was making me addicted to texting and surfing the web. However, the process of how dopamine affects the body is confusing to say the least. I hope that I will be able to control my own dopamine levels in order to help myself stay focused more often.

  11. I read “How to get over your sugar addiction” and “How Your Cell Phone Hurts Your Relationships”

    The sugar one was very interesting because many people in the US are addicted to sugar. Sugar is in almost everything we eat and everything that is delicious. I was surprised how easily they made cutting down on sugar sound. Simple things like reducing sugar by one or two packets in your coffee are little things you can do in order to help your sugar addiction. I myself eat intake more sugar than the average person should so I could use these tips in order to help me cut down my nasty habit.

    The cell phone article was actually very interesting as well. The experiment they did resulted in exactly what I thought would happen. When a cell phone is present in a date, it feels like your date is less interested in you. The study showed that because the couple felt less connected when a cell phone was present then the couple that didn’t have a cell phone present. I never take my cell phone out during dates because i know if feels awkward when my date does that. If cell phones weren’t our life support, then it would be easier for us to keep them away in situations like dates.

  12. The two articles that caught my eye and was very interesting were “Why Were All Addicted to texts, Twitter and Goggle”. and “How Your Cell Phones Hurts Your Relationships”.

    I have to confess I am addicted to texting , using twitter and goggle. It is so hard to not look at your phone or when you receive a notification. This article explains to me that it is possible and the reasons why we are so addicted. I found that very interesting, I would have never thought that being so addicted to using my phone would involved our brain and its functions. I also didn’t know they had a name for it “Dopamine” that controls our pleasure systems and also makes us feel enjoyment or pleasure. Also how dopamine has to do with us wanting something, and opioid has to do with us liking something. By wanting it propels us to action and makes us apply effort into whatever it is we want. While liking something makes us feel satisfied which puts our seeking action on pause. I thought made so much since , but just reading this article I am going to try to use my phone less and focus on getting more work done by shutting it off.

    I totally agree that cell phones will hurt someones relationship. I think that so many relationships would be saved if it wasn’t for cell phones interfering with others relationships, because so many people are in others relationships no matter if its their friends or not. Also cell phones have evidence and can make or break people relationships especially with cell phones having screen shot that is nothing but evidence a huge ingredient to destroy a relationship.

  13. The two articles I read were “Why We’re Addicted To Texts, Twitter, and Google” and “How Cellphones Affect Our Relationships”.

    The first article I taught was very interesting. Most teens today text like 100 texts a day and they care more about texting than their schoolwork. Dopamine is very powerful toward our bodies. When you anticipate a reward for something there is more brain activity. While I was reading the article I read that texts with 140 characters or less is more addictive. I believe the reason being is because when you text hort messages the person replying will reply something a little longer then you’ll probably have a big response to what they said.

    The 2nd article I read was very interesting I thought. It doesn’t matter what kind of relationship you have, cell phones can mess up any relationship. For example if your BESTFRIEND just came up for the weekend and you decided to hang out at the mall, the whole time you’re hanging out you’re texting your boyfriend. Your friend will feel like it was a waste of time coming up to see you. So I feel like if you’re hanging out with your boyfriend/girlfriend/friend you should limit the time on your phone to enjoy your time

  14. The two articles that I read were “Why Were All Addicted to texts, Twitter and Goggle”. and “How Your Cell Phones Hurts Your Relationships”. I believe that the artice about cell phone useage ruining your relationship can be true, but I also feel like the usage of your cell phone can potenially hurt any kind of relationships. Phones serve as a distraction for almost anyone. The second article that I read ties in with the first one. When you noitce that your phone is lighting up and you have a new notification its hard to fight that feeling of wanting to see who it is or whats happening with a social network. Both articles were very imformative and interesting to read and actually learn why humans are always so tied down to their phones.

  15. The two articles that I read were “Why We Are Addicted to Texts, Twitter, and Google” and “How Cell Phones Hurt Relationships”. Both articles showed how and why we rely on social media and technology a lot and how we use it too often.
    The first article explained how Dopamine is the reason we are addicted to texts and social networking because we seek pleasure and want more out of the sites and messages. We keep seeking more.

    The second article explains how we are attached to our cell phones and do not converse in person as much anymore. The cell phones are making society lose site of how important human contact is. Cell phones make us ignore the people around us at times and we are not giving some people our full attention because we’re too busy on our phone with someone else. With cell phones, you’re not fully living your life socially.

    Both articles were very interesting and made some excellent points about how we rely on technology and social networking too much in our lives.

  16. The ” How Your Cell Phone Hurts Your Relationship ” was very interesting. I agree that a cell phone can ruin someones relationship. When your girlfriend or boyfriend is next to you texting someone, you would like to know who it is. And when he or she says nobody mind your business, that makes the other person curious. If its nobody why cant you tell me. I believe if your faithful, you should allow your girlfriend or boyfriend check your phone when ever he or she wants.

  17. The two articles that I chose to read were “Why we’re all addicted to texts, twitter, and google” and “How Your Cell Phone Hurts Your Relationships.”

    Before even reading the first article about being addicted to texts and everything else, I just knew I would agree with it. I say this because I truly believe I’m addicted to my phone notifications. Its to the point where I cant leave my phone anywhere, I have to bring it and have it charged. The word dopamine taught me about the condition I currently have. It pretty much means that you are addicted. The situation is crazy though because its sad how most people including I, act when it comes to these electronics.

    The article about how cell phones hurt relationships really wasn’t that interesting to me but I do agree with the article. I do believe that cell phones and other electronics can effect a relationship. For example, less trust can occur due to some secrets on the phone, and the other person becoming curious. Even though cell phones have some bad effects, they also have good outcomes such as being able to connect with someone you cant see or lives in a further distance.

  18. Another article i read was ” Why we’re all addicted to texts,twitter, and google “. I believe people are addicted to texting becasue its the quickiest way to talk to someone without using your voice. People are addicted to twitter because its a compitition with the most followers plus you can see other peoples business like celebs. Also google is addictive because google is the best information website created to find out anything you didnt know or want to find.

  19. I read the article on ” why we are all addicted to text, twitter and google” and found it pretty interesting!! I have a friend and I can not wait to send her this article. This describes her in a nut cell… She is always checking her phone for missed calls, texts, events, any notification from Facebook. I found the article informative because now I know why she acts this way.

  20. The first article I read was, “How Your Cell Phone Hurts Your Relationships”. I found it to be entirely true and kind of ironic because as I was reading the article, I had to check my phone a couple of times. It’s true because I feel like phones contain personal and confidential information that, at some point, always finds its way out to the public. Releasing that information can cause trust issues and tension within relationships. I also feel like cell phones are a necessity because of the instant connection it gives you to other people. As long as we live, we’re going to have to deal with the negatives of cell phone use because of the many positives it presents.

    The second article I read was, “Why We’re All Addicted to Texts, Twitter, and Google”. I found the article interesting and informative. I was intrigued that they were able to identify the system that is responsible for the constant attention we pay to social networking. It’s also interesting that these sites are able to construct their sites in a way that activates our dopamine system and leaves us wanting more every time. The article broke down each part of the dopamine system and how each part is affected by social networking. They also gave a solution to the problem most people face, but to solve it, you must have self-discipline, which many people do not have.

  21. Studies have tried to prove to people that women get a little more out of seman then we think. These allegations come from a study that has been going on for years but has yet to be proven correct. Studies have been done within correlations of nature but have no proof that seman is an antidepressant. A good reason why this has not yet been proven could be because they haven’t taken other explanations in to considerations.
    What this study really found out was that females who have sexual intercourse without condoms have lower levels of depression. Verses woman who used condoms almost every time and women who practice abstinence seemed to have slightly higher levels of depression. The researcher thought that women who have sex without condoms have direct vaginal contact with seaman. Then they went on to saying the seaman went to your bloodstream somewhat like an S.T.D thats why they thought seman was an antidepressant. This researcher even declared that woman get postpartum depression because when they give birth the labor makes their husbands seman look bad.
    Another researcher discovered that couples who do not use condoms have sex upto twice as more than those who used condoms. This researcher also stated that sex with condoms wasn’t really sex but more like masturbation. Most women agree that the sex without the condoms is more pleasurable than sex with condoms.
    One more thought on this subject is that depression could lead to condom use. I know it sounds bizarre but you have to really take it into consideration. More woman who we depressed before they started to have sex. It’s possible that woman who don’t use condoms go by luck versus woman who over think pregnancy and S.T.D and want to practice safe sex.

  22. The first article I read was “How to get over a sugar addiction”. I thought this article was very informative and I think that it will work if someone actually tried to do it if you had a serious sugar addict. I agree with the fact that teenagers being addicted to it because I always eat something with some type of sugar when I am just sitting around watching tv.

    The second article “Why we are all addicted to texts, twitter, and google”. This article is very true because when I am either on the road or just sitting around I am either on facebook or twitter. I enjoy these media websites because it lets me see what the world is doing and it makes me enjoyable when I am just sitting or in the car.

  23. The two articles i read were “Semen an Antidepressant? Think Again,” and “How Your Cell Phone Hurts Your Relationships.”

    The first article was interesting because at first I thouhgt to myself thats the most random thing to say is an antidepressant. I would have thought i would read an article on junkfood being antidepressants since it makes people happy.

    The second article i read go me thinking about how true it is how everyone has a phone and everyone checks on eachother via text or something without going to see that person face to face. And Ill admit I text my friends while im out with other friends while they are talking to me. Kinda rude when i think about it.

  24. The two articles I have read are “How your cell phone hurts your relationships” and “Semen an Antidepressant?”.

    The first article I read was “How your cell phone hurts your relationships”. I Found it quite clever how they did there studies, in which a pair of individuals would have to talk in a room about a topic, one room with phones and one without. The results did not surprise me what so ever(the room with the phones were less trusting/ empathetic). Cell phones do weigh heavily on relationships these days because everyone has one, and this study just goes to confirm that it truly does mess with present day relationships.

    The second article I read was “Semen and Antidepressant?”. This article was a very strange article. I had no idea, about some of the fact that had been mentioned in this article. Such as people who do not use condoms during sexual intercoarse are more likly to have twice as frequent sex than people who do use condoms. This article was very interesting, and also surprising.


Categories

