Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | April 6, 2012

Friday Five – April 6, 2012

In the ten years I’ve worked for my school, I still haven’t quite figured out why we get Good Friday and Easter Monday off (well, now we just get a late start on Easter Monday). We’re not a religious school. But I really won’t complain if it means I get a Friday off from heading into campus. (Note: I don’t get it off from doing work. I have a to-do list a mile long of things I’ve been putting off for too long.)

This has been a busy short week at work, with advising and registering students for Fall 2012 classes. (PSY102 students: make sure you’ve registered & met with your adviser to confirm your courses!) I didn’t really get a chance to process through my retweets until this morning. The following five links are what jumped at me this morning.

PsyPost (Springer Select) – April 2, 2012

This link reports on a study recently published in Psychonomic Bulletin & Review. The study by Holly Miller and colleagues found that, much like humans, dogs that have exercised self-control will engage in riskier behaviors than dogs who have not just exercised self-control.

PsyPost (University of Gothenburg) – April 2, 2012

For me, the timing of this link was perfect. My Social Psychology students were doing an in-class student-led discussion about the role of media violence in aggressive behavior. Too bad my Social Psych kids don’t read this blog – this study could have been useful to their discussion.

This link describes a study by researchers from the University of Gothenburg, Sweden who have found that the modern violent gaming environment actually requires a lot of cooperation among players.

Personally, I’ve seen this need for cooperation when my husband plays World of Warcraft. However, one should note that this particular study focused on multi-player, collaborative games – ones where players fight against each other or work together to fight the game. The findings discussed may not apply to single-player games – ones where the player only interacts with the computer.

Psychology Today: Are We Born Racist? (Rodolfo Mendoza-Denton, Ph.D.) – March 31, 2012

When I first read this post, I immediately thought of a long time acquaintance of mine. She’s a really sweet person, but she has a knack for being attracted to guys who wind up being the worst losers. The study discussed in this post provides some explanations for my acquaintance’s behavior. The study found that, compared to women with no history of emotional abuse, women who have a history of emotional abuse are actually more attracted to potentially abusive partners.

Science Daily: Science News – April 4, 2012

Students, you may think you are good multi-taskers, but the research evidence suggests otherwise. This post reports on the findings of a recent study that demonstrates that texting in class diverts student attention from lecture and course material, which in turn impacts performance.

This particular study examined texting, but it’s likely that the findings generalize to other technology-based distractions in class, such as Twitter, reading email, watching YouTube, and so forth.

Association for Psychological Science (APS): Daily Observations – April 5, 2012

I sense a math theme continuing from last week.  APS provides an overview of a recent study out of Stanford University that the brain activity of people with math anxiety is different from that of people without math anxiety.

Unfortunately for those of you with math anxiety, this particular study doesn’t offer suggestions on overcoming it. The study focused on determining a biological basis of math anxiety and found it.

Responses

  1. Perhaps travel time for students who live far away and want to be with their families for Easter Sunday?

    I don’t think we even had a family Easter dinner until I graduated. But that’s just us.

  2. Star-Crossed Lovers: When NOT to Trust an Intuition of Compatibility:
    I honestly found this interesting but not surprising in the least because I’ve heard numerous suppositions about this before. Numerous magazines targeted at the female audience talk about this so I’ve heard it before but not with such clarity of information.

    Math Anxiety Is (Literally) in Your Head:
    Was kind of out of left field with what I had previously believed about math anxiety. I guess I never associated math anxiety with neurological causes although it has to start somewhere. I always just associated it with societal influence on the individual and never figured that the individual themselves were continuing the pattern of math anxiety within their own nervous systems.

  3. •Star-Crossed Lovers: When NOT to Trust an Intuition of Compatibility
    This article did not suprise me at all. I have seen so many girls that keep going for the same loser guys. Even after being in a terrible relationship, they still find a way to be in another bad one.

    •Text Messaging in Class May Affect College Students’ Learning
    Texting in class really is a big issue in classrooms today. I see so many people who look at their phone the entire class. When a test comes along, these kids seem to become overwhlemed with all the information that they need to know. It wouldnt be so overwhleming if they had just payed attention the first time.

  4. •Star-Crossed Lovers: When NOT to Trust an Intuition of Compatibility
    I couldn’t agree more with what this article states. I recently found out that one of my close friends is back with her ex boyfriend. My friend was in such depression when they broke up 2 years ago, regardless of the fact that he treated her like dirt during and even after the relationship. It came to the point where she even wanted to commit suicide because he told her once that her prescence sickens him. After that phase, she met someone new, who was such a sweetheart, and treated her right. She broke up with him because she says that she was “still in love” with her ex. Now that i read this article, i know that she suffers from Attachment anxiety. I really wish she can open her eyes and see that she’s making the biggest mistake of her life, and i’m so scared that she will go through that same phase again, and lose her because of him.

    •Text Messaging in Class May Affect College Students’ Learning
    It’s no doubt when students text during class, they’re not paying attention. I myself am guilty of that. As much as we think we can multitask, it’s very difficult. Being distracted for one second can completely disrrupt your train of thought. You start thinking of other things instead of what the professor is lecturing about. I rarely text during class, but when I do, it has to be important. I was never a fan of texting friends during class because it’s just a waste of my time. If I wasn’t going to pay attention in class, i would’ve just not come to class at all. I go to school to learn, so my friends can wait.

  5. Like humans, dogs engage in riskier behaviors when their self-control is depleted
    They say dogs are the mans best friend. From this reading I have found out dogs carry traits similar to humans. In this study conducted 10 dogs were being tested. These dogs were being studied for their exerted self control. The decision making by dogs is similar to humans and these studies conducted make it easier for us to detect these mental processes.

    Text Messaging in Class May Affect College Students’ Learning
    Students who text in class have a harder time in school. Students who text in class may find themselves paying attention less in class. From this study it was found out that on average a student would text about 2.4 text messages in class. Some students are good at multitasking in certain situations. On the other hand on students who can multitask may not be able to handle the multitasking conditions. From this study I have learned that I should reduce my texting in class because i know I am not a good multi tasker.

  6. “Star-Crossed Lovers: When NOT to Trust an Intuition of Compatibility,” is a very interesting article. It brings up points about the fact that there is a pattern in partners that abused women and potentially abusive men follow. This is caused by the wrong interpretation of certain personality traits that the male may have. Jealousy means that he just cares deeply for you, and anger is exciting and dangerous. To most people, this would not seem normal, however, it is women with high attachment anxiety that need this type of attention.

    “Researchers questioning the link between violent computer games and aggressiveness,” was a very surprising article. I was expecting that the article would be about how violent video games do lead to violent behaviors. However, the article described how good gamers, actually show a high skill level in order to complete the actions in their games at the right time and in the correct way.

  7. -Text Messaging in Class May Affect College Students’ Learning: I have always wondered why teachers always stressed no texting in class. Perhaps they didn’t want to feel like they were talking to the wall or they just didn’t want the students to drift away from the class. According to this article, students who texted in class were more likely to not pay attention to the professor thus inhibiting their learning abilities. Even though students feel like they can multitask, in reality trying to multitask disrupts important learning time.
    – Star-Crossed Lovers: When NOT to Trust an Intuition of Compatibility: This study was conducted to see what type of opposite sex was attracted to certain abusive characteristics. The study showed that women who have been abused in the past were more likely to be attracted to men who had predispositions to being abusive. Also men who are abusive innately are attracted to women who are high on attachment anxiety. In other words women who have been in abusive relationships that cling on to a relationship regardless of the partners level of abusiveness.

  8. Star-Crossed Lovers:
    I was very interested in this article, and what it had to say. I think everyone wants to be treated like “God” and have their partner truly love them, but in reality this will not happen. People always sugar coat things and always put on their “mask” so people think they are this awesome, caring person. Half the time most guys who say they will do something nice won’t end up following through with it. I have been in a relationship where I was treated poorly and my boyfriend told me all the wonderful things that I wanted to hear. I always wanted these things to be true but they never were so something needed to change. Thank God he moved away.

    Text Messaging in class:
    I couldn’t agree more with this article. I am guilty of texting in class and I know that when I’m sitting there looking at my phone the teacher is talking and saying things that I should be writing down. I also believe that it is rude to a certain extent, especially when your talking to someone face to face.Some students are good multitasks but that doesn’t matter your still not paying attention to what the teacher is saying or doing. If you want to become a stronger student I would suggest to shut your phone off or not bring it at all. I’m going to challenge myself to bring my phone to class, leave it on vibrate but tell myself that i’m not able to look at it. It really shouldn’t be that hard to do but I think I will want to look at it even to just look at the time.

  9. Text Messaging in Class May Affect College Students’ Learning

    Texting in class has been a big issue in classrooms today. I see so many people who look at their phone the entire class. When a test comes along, these kids seem to become overwhlemed with all the information that they need to know. It wouldn’t be so overwhleming if they had just payed attention the first time and took the time to study.

    Star-Crossed Lovers:
    I was very interested in this article, and what it had to say. I think everyone wants to be treated as if they were perfect and have their partner truly love them, but in reality this will not happen. People always sugar coat things and always put on their disguise so people think they are this awesome, caring person. Half the time most guys who say they will do something nice won’t end up following through with it.


Categories

