Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | March 2, 2012

Friday Five – March 2, 2012

The trend this semester seems to be go crazy all week with work and then crash in exhaustion on the weekend. I seem to never get more than a half step ahead of the work. Things were so crazy this week, I didn’t really get a chance to pick out one retweet each day for the Friday Five. So, a few hours ago, after getting out of class a few minutes early, I ran through the week’s retweets and picked five that most interested me. It seems to be a week dominated by tweets through Psychology Today (@PsychToday on Twitter). I usually try to vary up the source of my links during weeks when I spend a bit more effort picking links.

Here are this week’s Friday Five:

Psychology Today: Ulterior Motives (Art Markman, Ph.D.) – February 27, 2012

My PSY101 students are probably wishing I’d stop harping on this studying thing. Some are probably asking whether this morning’s lecture was about stress or about studying for the exam next Friday. It was actually about stress, but I was using their upcoming exam as an illustration.

In his Ulterior Motives blog, Art Markman discusses the results from several studies regarding the study habits of college students. He points out some of the more (and some of the less) successful methods of studying.

Students, it’s in your best interest to study and get the most out of your college education. Think of the amount of time and money being invested in your education. Only you can ensure you get a good return on that investment. Your professors are more like personal trainers than plastic surgeons. We can coach you and give you guidance to develop success, but we cannot just make you a success. Trust me, my job would be a whole lot easier if I could just open your head and dump in knowledge and skills.

Psychology Today: Fulfillment at Any Age (Susan Krauss Whitbourne, Ph.D.) – February 28, 2012

In Latin, there is a saying: Que me amat, amet et canem meum. (Love me, love my dog.) It has been taken to mean if you want to be in a relationship with a person, you have to be willing to accept everything about them (including their dog). In my case, this is dogs – plural.

In her Fulfillment at Any Age blog, Susan Krauss Whitbourne discusses attachment theory and what can be learned about our attachment to our pets. It probably comes as no surprise to most pet owners that research does support that our attachment to our pets is an important part of our psychological lives.

Psychology Today: Stress and Sex (Laurie B. Mintz, Ph.D.) – February 29, 2012

The original Tweet for this link (“Your grandparents have sex—get over it.”) was a whole lot more attention grabbing than the title of the blog post.

In her Stress and Sex blog, Laurie B. Mintz dispels the myth that older adults don’t have sex.

As I often tell my Human Sexuality students, saying someone should stop having sex because they’ve reached some arbitrarily defined age of being too old is like me telling you that you have stop eating chocolate tomorrow because it’s Saturday. It makes absolutely no sense.

Psych Your Mind (Amie Gordon) – February 20, 2012

In this post for Psych Your Mind, Amie Gordon briefly discusses some of the reasons hazing practices exist and why it is so difficult to stop the hazing practice.

I must admit that this link brought renewed attention to flyers in my building announcing National Hazing Prevention Week. I cannot say for certainty when these flyers appeared in my building, but based on their layer on the bulletin boards, it has to be this semester. After having no success with the web address typed on the flyers, I Googled National Hazing Prevention Week. It’s the last week of September. I sent an email off to the Director of Greek Life on my campus. I laud the attempts to alert students to the dangers of hazing, but it would help to provide them accurate information.

Psychology Today: Face It (Vivian Diller, Ph.D.) – March 2, 2012

In her Face It blog, Vivian Diller comments on the recent publicity around Demi Moore and Heather Locklear and the difficulties they seem to be experiencing with aging before the Hollywood spotlight. Diller also discusses the rise in substance abuse and extreme measures to control aging among midlifers.

 

Responses

  1. I thought that “Developing Good Study Habits Really Works” was interesting because of how many people are saying the same thing about studying. Even knowing the data behind the study, there are always the people who just don’t study until the week before the exam (me). It would be good to develop the study habits, but for some reason even with all the money that I’m paying for college, I just don’t feel the motivation to do so.

    “How Emotionally Attached Are You to Your Pet?” was interesting for me because the entire time I was reading the article I couldn’t help thinking about my dog that I left behind when I came to school. Every time I pass the pet aisle in a store, I think of my dog. Honestly I’m closer to my dog than I am to a lot of my human friends and I think that this article was interesting to know that I’m not the only one that feels that way. But mainly I chose this article because it had the word pet in the title and I wanted to relate it to my dog back home.

  2. Developing Good Study Habits Really Works

    I could understand the matter of testing yourself while studying to help retain information for exams but I don’t agree with that depending on your gpa determines how you study. I have a pretty good gpa and i don’t test myself with what i study I tend to read the material over and over and when ever i take the exam i tend to remember when reading the questions and answers available.

    The Psychology of Hazing

    I seen a few questions at the bottom I feel i can answer as to eradicating hazing. I don’t think it would ever be possible to do this because there will always be ways for Greek Life to perform these acts without anyone knowing. I feel they should just be made safer so no one ends up hurt or in the hospital. One hazing idea I really don’t agree with would be getting hit on the bottom with a thick paddle.

  3. How Emotionally Attached Are You to Your Pet?
    This article stood out to me the most this week. I have 3 dogs in my household and I love all 3 of them. I would never sleep over someone else’s house because I wouldn’t like the fact I couldn’t sleep with my dog. This shows the relationships between human and nonhumans can be genuine if everything goes right. For example some human treat their pets like they were kids, they bring them everywhere, carry them, and pamper them. On the other hand some pets are neglected and not treated the right way.I say just treat others how you want to be treated, including animals they are people too.

    Developing Good Study Habits Really Works
    Studying is the key to success. There are many ways to study depending on the type of learner you are. In the article it says your need to test yourself to actually learn the information. Just looking at the information over and over is not studying. You have to recall the information and do a lot of critical thinking to understand because we are all still trying to learn.On average we at least spend the first 20 years of our lives in school or pursuing higher education. Knowledge is power and the more you know puts you in a better standing in the future.

  4. Developing Good Study Habits Really Works

    I totally agree with everything they say in this article. In high school, I used to just skim through some notes before an exam, and then score a decent grade on it. But in college it’s nothing like that. I’m very busy, and the last thing on my mind is homework. I would be at school all day, and when i get home i just crash on my couch. I stay up very late at night doing homework. I’m the master of procastination. I’m not proud of it either. I know studying more often will help me actually learn what i’ve been listening to in class, but I find that I never have the time to do anything without having to deal with all my other responsibilties first. After recieving some exams back these past couple of weeks, I realized this is no joke. That I’m actually paying for these classes and I’m not taking it serious! I’ve been trying really hard to study more by reading over some notes daily and reading the chapters of the subject. I just want to do great this semester, and be successful in the future.

    How Emotionally Attached Are You to Your Pet?

    After reading this article, it made me realize how attached i am to my dog. I’m on the anxiety scale! Not a day goes by where i think to myself what would happen if my dog passed away. I’m even more scared of HOW she will die! I pray day and noght for my dog. She’s the only dog I’ve had that lived with me for so long. When I’m away on vacation, i worry a lot about her. I always hear stories that even our pets can be depressed. I don’t want my dog to be depressed, which is why i always give her the attention she needs. I love my pet, and I pray that nothing ever happens to her. YES, I AM ON THAT ANXIETY SCALE!

  5. •Developing Good Study Habits Really Works
    I agree that quizzing yourself is the best way to study. I know that everytime i do that, I tend to get a higher then when I don’t. I also feel flashcards are the best way to study. When studying ffrom notes or from a textbook, I tend to just stare at it or I read everything and forget it all in a matter of seconds. Study habits really needs to be developed at a young age.

    •How Emotionally Attached Are You to Your Pet?
    This article really brings up some great points about how important pets are to people. I remember when my family used to have cats before they passed away, I would always be excited to see them. They always put me in a good mood and made me feel better. I think it is because pets are so affectionate. Now that I don’t have pets anymore, I notice that whenever I am at a friends house, I seem to pay more attention to the pet then I do to my friend.

  6. Developing Good Study Habits Really Works
    I agree with the article. I find that when I study over long periods of time and reinforce what I am learning in the classroom i do much better on my exams, rather then when I cram for the test the night before. Testing yourself before the test makes it much easier to actually take the test.

    It’s Funny But It Isn’t True: Debunking Myths About Aging and Sexuality
    Well, as much as I hate to think about my parents or grand parents sex lives, I can understand how sex at advanced ages could be beneficial. I can also see how older people still have a sex drive. Gotta keep some fun in their lives.

  7. The Psychology of Hazing

    Hazing is a world wide problem. Many Sports teams, fraternities, clubs, etc. take part in hazing acts for initiation. In the article is explains how hazing is very private and also mentions that not every group partakes in this crime, Also which was very interesting was if a certain person wants to join a group they don’t think hazing will happen to them. Also if people get hazed they phys ch themselves out by telling themselves it was not that bad.

    Developing Good Study Habits Really Works

    Everyone has their own different way for studying for an exam. But study has it their are some ways that studying for an exam actually work for most people. The people with the highest GPA usually test themselves before the exam to study. Other people make flashcards which is also very effective. Study for an exam brings lots of stress and anxiety but it can also be easy if you use the right techniques and stay calm.

  8. “Developing Good Study Habits Really Works” was a good article. I believe everybody can succeed mastering this basic, important need. Everybody is different, some work better recalling the information, others work better applying the information. Some people I know do better cramming the information too. Which ever way an individual chooses to study their material, I believe people should also practice other ways. Not to strictly stick to one habit. Not every technique can apply to every class, evey topic or exam. You may require more time for one class than another. More knowledge, or even more experience.

    “How Emotionally Attached Are You to Your Pet?” I love this article. It related to me in many ways. I live with 3 dogs and a cat. One of the dogs is specifically mine. I have to admit, I am 100 % attached to my dog. I named my dog after my favorite grandfather, her name “Puchy” is on my high school senior class ring, I drew her for an art project, I celebrate her birthday every March 15th, I spoil her and at night we cuddle to sleep. It’s pretty obvious I am crazy for her. I do wonder how things will change when the time comes and I have to let go. I get upset when I realize that she can’t grow old with me forever. After reading the article, there is no doubt I’m going to need some major lifetime pet therapy in the future.

  9. “Developing Good Study Habits Really Works,” is an article that is especially important to college students. Throughout our years of education we have been hearing teachers and professors telling us that cramming a months worth of knowledge into one night before the test will not get us the grade that we could attain if we had studied a little each day. I believe that most students are aware of this, the problem is that students are not the best planners. Other work comes up and is due before the test, therefore the studying is likely to be pushed asside for assignments that are due sooner. As the article says, planning out a schedule and sticking to it is the only way for students to study for upcoming tests while still staying up on the current assignments.

    “It’s Funny But It Isn’t True: Debunking Myths About Aging and Sexuality,” is able to bring some light to the subject of elderly sexuality. Of course, most of us probably do not want to picture grandparents involved in such activities, however, studies show that it does happen quite a bit more often than we think. People in their forties are actually the happiest with their sex lives. Another myth that the article puts down, is that sex can be dangerous to the elderly. This is false, and those who do engage in sexual activity are actually healthier than those who do not. This makes sense because excersise is healthy and happier people tend to live longer, both could be caused by continuing sexual activity into later years.

  10. -The Psychology of Hazing: This article briefly explains hazing rituals certain groups or organizations do to new members trying to enter their organization. I think there definitely should be some sort of initiation to enter but the hazing rituals done these days are ridiculous. Consummation of drugs and alcohol in large amounts, beatings, and sexual hazing to name a few are all too much just to join an organization. I believe a nonphysical test or an interview might suffice.
    -Why Some Midlifers Spiral Out of Control?: This article shows how midlifers, more specifically women, go to extreme lengths to maintain their youth. From medical procedures to drugs people are desperate to keep whatever “looks” or physical features they have attained praise for and is slowly but surely diminishing. I believe that maintaining a healthy diet and regular exercise should be number one in any persons life regardless of age and should be the top priority. So what if your youthful looks are deteriorating, what really matters is your health. We are born to age and going against that can be harmful to a persons health.

  11. Developing good study habits really works:
    This is a great article and as much as many college students would hate to admit it, is spot on. From my own experience i have spent many late nights cramming for an exam and never seem to do as well as hopped. Its a simple fact that you can retain much more information studying little bits at a time frequently, opposed to studying 4 hours the night before an exam.

    Debunking Myths about age and sex
    This article although disturbing to think about is very interesting. Anyone would assume elderly people having sex would be dangerous just because of preconceived notions, and maybe a lack of wanting to imagine old people having sex. It is good to know though that even in old age people can still have a good time and be healthy too!

  12. “Developing Good Study Habits Really Works”
    As soon as I read the title to the article, I clicked on it. I’m always looking for better ways to improve my studying and becoming a better student. I know for a fact that as a college student you can always improve your study techniques no matter if you have a 4.0. The article states how your GPA shows how you study, I disagree with this statement. Not all people who put hours of studying in will end up with a high GPA, actually most people who have the higher GPA are probably visual learners. They remember what the teacher writes down and what she has to say about it too.

    “How Emotionally Attached Are You to Your Pet”
    When I saw this articles title I was so intrigued. I have animals of my own and love them to death, no matter if they happen to hide my shoe in some unknown place where I can’t find it. This article is relatable to me and I already knew that I was attached to my cat. I look forward to going home to see her and spend as much time I can when her. I see that she even acts different toward me than say my father. Yes, my dad might feed her but she knows that she is mine. She sleeps in my room, cries as soon as she hears me calling her name as I walk in the house, and i’ll even give her special treats when I make food for myself. She loves it! But like the article says, “Pets are the ideal attachment figures,” and I couldn’t agree more. Animals are a way for people to learn responsibility and how to treat something that is dependent on someone else. Also in my house hold I have one other cat and one dog, so it is very amusing to watch them all interact.

  13. creating good study habbits is a great way staying ahead of the game. Sometimes people do forget how much they have riding on when your in college. The proffessor can only do some much to teach you the material; it comes down to the student desire to learne. “you bring the horse to the water but you can not make it drink the water” has been past down to generation to generation as life lesson.

    “A man dog is a man bestfriend” Being attach to your pets is away of comfort for a person or a way to cope with situation. Some people treat there pets as children becuasue not everyone can have children of there own. Some will use there pets a friend so they wont feel alone and miserable by them selve. Just like knowing a old lady who house a lot of cats is a example.


Categories

