Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | January 22, 2012

Sunday Seven – January 22, 2012

This is what happens when one procrastinates in starting a post until Friday afternoon. It doesn’t get finished before leaving for the day, and then Friday evening fun and Saturday laziness lead to post abandonment.

The challenge this week was finding links that might be useful for my students as well as informative for other readers. I also wanted to find a balance between generally useful links and research-based links. I’m not certain I really achieved those goals, but here are five seven links I wanted to share this week.

About.com Psychology (Kendra Cherry) – January 18, 2012

As I have stated earlier, I am the queen of procrastination. However, I am at least aware of my procrastination and have learned how to balance my productivity with my desire to put things off. I think many people are still struggling to figure out how to be productive. Kendra Cherry offers four major cognitive distortions that lead to procrastination as well as suggestions for overcoming procrastination.

For my students, I also recommend you read Kendra Cherry’s post on How to Take Great Psychology Notes from January 19, 2012.

Forbes (Art Carden, contributor) – January 12, 2012

Art Carden is writing specifically about his Economics courses, but his statement applies for any course in academia. As much as there are times I enjoy the idea of being an evil professor, I generally want to be helpful to my students. However, to be truly helpful, students need to know where I’m coming from in regards to my expectations and grading. My philosophy is very similar to Art Carden’s.

Medical News Today – January 17, 2012

Researchers Glen Cameron of the University of Missouri School of Journalism and Hyo Kim of Nanyang Technological University in Singapore have released the findings of a study examining how the framing of news coverage of a disaster impacts people’s emotional response to the disaster. They exposed participants to either an “anger-frame”, which blamed the organization for the crisis, or to a “sadness-frame” that focused on the victims of the crisis. Cameron and Kim found that, in comparison to the “sadness-frame”, the “anger-frame” led people to pay less attention to the news and to develop negative feelings about the organization. The findings have implications not only for corporations and how they handle the news coverage of crises, but also implications for ourselves in taking a second look at how we react to news coverage of events.

Psychology Today: Sexuality Today (Stephen Snyder, M.D.) – January 15, 2012

Stephen Snyder writes an open letter to Tim Tebow in his Sexuality Today blog for Psychology Today. Dr. Snyder cautions Tebow, and other abstinence-before-marriage practitioners, that waiting until marriage to have sex does not necessarily make sex more special after marriage.

Psychology Today: Inside the Criminal Mind (Stanton E. Samenow, Ph.D) – January 19, 2012

In his Inside the Criminal Mind blog for Psychology Today, Dr. Samenow discusses how criminals seek an excitement that comes from their lifestyle outside the realm of normal societal conduct. Dr. Samenow argues that simply finding a different source of excitement is not enough to deter criminals.

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RJWF): Public Health News Roundup – January 20, 2012

RJWF presents the findings of a recent CDC report that shows that more than 50% of teen girls who had an unintended pregnancy between 2004 and 2008 reported that they did not use contraception. If this statistic is not scary enough, the CDC report also states that despite the drop in teen pregnancies in recent years, the United States still has the highest teen birth rate of any developed country.

The full study report can be read in the CDC (Center for Disease Control and Prevention) Morbidity and Mortality Report Weekly (MMWR) for January 20, 2012.

PsychCentral: World of Psychology (Faith Deeter) – January 20, 2012

I acknowledge that this final link is one of a more personal nature for me. I have the good luck of living up the road from Blue Star Equiculture, so in recent years, I have had the opportunity to learn more about the welfare of working horses.

In her article, Faith Deeter is raising awareness of recent change in legislation allows slaughter houses in the United States to resume the slaughter of horses for human consumption.

Responses

  1. Travarius Howard

    How to Overcome Procrastination
    The article I have read was on “ How to Overcome Procrastination”. I found this one to be interesting because of that 15 letter word procrastination .I can relate to this so much because Ms. Cherry gave great examples on what procrastination is and how it affects us. She says that college students procrastination starts by students underestimating or thinking to highly of their abilities to get the work done. I have been facing this problem for a while throughout my school years until I had realized where procrastination was taking me . I learned to put forth your best work and give it your all no matter what. I’d like this article and I would recommend this to all students in AIC .

    How to Take Great Psychology Notes
    Ms. Cherry helps out a lot with in this article. She says that we should not write down every little the professor writes down on the board. We should focus mainly on the Professor writing down the key terms and aspects of the lecture. We should indeed take the initiative to go beyond the class and reading ahead or just acquiring more knowledge about what was said in class. With this new knowledge I know what to expect to write down now instead of racing to write every little thing down and missing the most important facts. She also has other articles on how to study for tests and quizzes.


Categories

