Posted by: Anne E. Stuart | October 28, 2011

Friday Five – October 28, 2011

I had a tough time picking out five links to share this week. The danger in following more people on Twitter is that I have more links to sort through. I also found a lot of information interesting this week, and I had many more retweets this week than I had last week.

Psych Central: World of Psychology (Jamie Hale) – October 22, 2011

This column provides good advice for my students, but also any reader. I will admit that often I do only a cursory scan of the brief report (or press release, in some instances) of the studies I link to on this blog and through Twitter. Generally, I’m not too worried about this practice because most of the links are coming to me from professional organizations that I trust to a certain degree.

Psych Central: World of Psychology (Gretchen Rubin) – October 25, 2011

I am the queen of procrastination, and I should take some of the advice given in this column. Friends and family members will probably tell you that I become quite a bear when I’m under procrastination-generated pressure to finish a task. My biggest problem is that I’ve learned over my many years in academia (both as a student and a professor) just how much procrastination I can get away with and still get projects done “on time”.

Medical News Today – October 28, 2011

What’s a Friday Five before Halloween without some Zombies? Dr. Nick Pearce illustrates how modern depictions are very different from their original conceptualization. He points out that, unlike early portrayals of zombies as undead slaves of voodoo masters, the modern zombie (e.g., the zombies of the late 1960s through today) has no controlling master. Pearce argues that this modern zombie is analogous to the hordes of individuals who feel powerless to the mass consumption of consumer goods.

If you or someone you know is able to attend, Dr. Pearce will be giving his talk as part of the Economic and Social Research Council’s (ESRC) Festival of Social Science 2011 on November 2nd at the Lit and Phil, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 1SE at 7pm. His talk will be followed by a screening of White Zombie (1932).

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Office of Public Health Preparedness – October 18, 2011

This was actually a link I received and retweeted last week. However, I couldn’t resist staying on the zombie theme. The CDC has created a fun graphic novel “Preparedness 101: Zombie Pandemic” to teach the importance of emergency preparedness. A PDF version of the graphic novel is available from the CDC through the link above.

Association for Psychological Science – October 28, 2011

Seeing that I already had a Halloween theme going this week, I was pretty excited when this press release came in from the Association for Psychological Science (APS). Several psychologists are stating that we like Halloween because it provides a safe (and fun) way to be scared.

Categories

